Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-15-2009, 12:14 PM   #1

Share |

Best way to temporarily cover an unfinished wall for art hanging?

I am an artist living in a rented townhome and my studio is in the basement. I am able to produce my work in the basement, but I would really like to have a decent place to hang/install and photograph it for portfolio uses.

The wall in the basement is semi-finished (photo above) and not very flattering. Additionally, I would not want to apply tape, paint, wire, nails and whatever else to the landlord's existing wall. So what I really need is an attractive, fully-removable solution that would mimic a gallery environment, have the strength to hold reasonably heavy pieces (20 pounds?) and leave the original wall in the same condition. The concrete floor and unfinished ceiling are fine the way they are and I am only interested in the space between the green plastic on the left and the black pipe on the right.

What would be the best way to accomplish this? I have considered the following:
  • Framing a standard wall over the existing one. But this seems like overkill and may make the landlord uncomfortable.
  • Nailing shallow strips of wood over the studs, drywalling over them. Concerned about structural integrity and ease of removal.
  • Constructing some sort of movable wall in two/three sections that could be disassembled and reused at another location. I am not sure how to build it so that it could handle the load without falling over.