Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-23-2011, 04:39 PM   #1

Share |

Best way to install bathroom exhaust fan

I'm pretty new to home renovations. I have to install a bathroom exhaust fan to assist in controlling possible moisture issues. Does anybody have a advice?

Thanks

Grant

glehman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:18 PM   #2
User

Install from attic if possible since this is the easiest access.
Cut your opening in ceiling attach fan to joist tie into electrical. You can tie into existing lighting if you don't want separate switch.

Run exhaust duct to the outside using R-8 or higher to minimize condensation inside the duct.

Subcooled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:26 PM   #3
DIY staff

I install these all the time--tell me this--do you have access to the attic above this room?

is this a first floor bath with a no access from above?

Fan only or fan with light?

Fan switched on with light or separate switch?
Old 01-23-2011, 06:02 PM   #4

Hey gents, thanks for the responses.

There is an attic above the bathroom. I personally can't get access, but I have a slave child that can get in there... kidding.

I'd like to run a separate power to the fan, so I can run it for a while without a light on.

What was meant by the "R-8 or higher" for th duct?
Old 01-23-2011, 06:32 PM   #5
User

Quote:
Originally Posted by glehman67 View Post
Hey gents, thanks for the responses.

What was meant by the "R-8 or higher" for th duct?
This is the "R" factor of insulation for the duct. (higher is better) In this case flex duct would be the best to use if installed properly taught with no droops to minimize friction rate and places for condensation to collect.