Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-13-2005, 07:52 PM   #1
New House Poor

Rewards Points: 10

Bedroom Remodel - From Scratch

Hey all.

New house owner here. It's old. It needs a makeover. I'm starting with the bedroom. I'm looking for advice.

I am new at this but determined. So here is what I am looking to do. Please let me know how you would approcah this project.

I Removed all plaster and lathe from walls and ceiling, including the old cellulose insulation. All that remains are studs and ceiling beams.

1. I would like insulate the walls and attic floor and make the attic capable of storage above the bedroom, i.e. put in a floor. (attic access is in the hallway so I wont need access in the bedroom) How do I calculate how much weight I can safely put on the ceiling beams?

2. I would like to create a soffit ceiling that brings the celing down about 8 inches with a 15 inch gap bewteen the walls that contains recessed lighting in the middle and hidden, dimmable rope lighting around the perimeter for mood.

3. A whole lot of drywall.

Basically I am looking for how one would approach the project from a safe and practical standpoint.

Thanks.

fizorzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 10:48 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

This is just a hunch but I figure you have 2x4 rough cut for ceiling joist's?

Last edited by JustaFramer; 11-13-2005 at 10:50 PM.
JustaFramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 10:13 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 75