Beam Size - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2008, 10:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


I have a concrete deck that is 13'X8'.
I plan to erect a shed style roof over this using 2X8 rafters.
One end of the rafters will be supported by a ledger board on the house.
The other ends supported on a 13' beam.
This rafters will be 8' from the ledger board to the beam.
The snow load in this area is 50 lbs/sq.ft.
The beam will be supported at each end with 6 by 6 posts.
What size of beam would be required to support this roof and its snow load?

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:35 PM   #2
x/builder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Beam Size


But it's very simple,

6x6 should surfice providing that the supports leading from the roof to the beam are angled to push the load to either ends of the beam. Or adding a second 6x6 support collum in the middle.

Again remember this requies a permit where I'm from.

fj

Advertisement

FrankTheTorontoRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 11:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


What supports do you mean? " providing that the supports leading from the roof to the beam are angled ".
Perhaps I was unclear. I was looking for the size of the horizontal beam that the rafters will rest on.
Actually this project is to repair an existing roof, that is inadequate for the heavy snow loads that we seem to get nowadays.
I assume that a repair would be exempt from a building permit. Its my understanding that a permit would be required if any dimensions are changed!
Thanks for your reply!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:00 AM   #4
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,825
Rewards Points: 2,138
Default

Beam Size


You think a new roof structure is a repair? - 50 psf snow is miuch more that a light snow and someon must have determined that for a reason.

Don't take the permit issue to lightly. - Remember you are attaching a stucture to your house ans it is over an occupied space and adds load to the deck.

When the area bove the patio is converted to a 3 or 4 season room you could need a permit. - Most covered decks in a cold climate get converted.

When you go to sell, this could easily be a red flag for a buyer wanting to get the price down even if he does not hire a home inspector.

What are you hanging the ledger on?

Dick

Last edited by concretemasonry; 07-23-2008 at 09:02 AM.
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:28 AM   #5
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


AGREED. Any structural change or repair must be done with a permit. BOB
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 11:17 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Beam Size


Post a picture of the site.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 07:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by concretemasonry View Post
You think a new roof structure is a repair? - 50 psf snow is miuch more that a light snow and someon must have determined that for a reason.

Don't take the permit issue to lightly. - Remember you are attaching a stucture to your house ans it is over an occupied space and adds load to the deck.

When the area bove the patio is converted to a 3 or 4 season room you could need a permit. - Most covered decks in a cold climate get converted.

When you go to sell, this could easily be a red flag for a buyer wanting to get the price down even if he does not hire a home inspector.

What are you hanging the ledger on?

Dick
At the present time there is a aluminum canopy over the concrete deck. It appears to approximately 40 years old.
With the recent snow loads it has bowed down in the middle about 10".
It appears to bowing more and more, with each passing winter and I expect it will fail in the near future. Causing whatever damage, I'm unsure.
I just hope that someone isn't injured. Especially me!
I went to apply for a building permit to build a replacement and was informed and that I cannot build this because it is located 3 feet from the property line and the municipal by-law requires 4 feet.
I was told that I can appeal this decision, but the appeal fee would be in the neighborhood of $700. And it could be denied.
As the cost of material for this project is approximately $700, this seems to be exorbitant.
I believe that this by-law is unfair and ill conceived.
I think that if I'm charged and taken before a judge, that he will agree with me and quash their inane ruling!
So that is why, I will build without a permit!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 11:53 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


I would be interested in any comment about my predictament!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 12:23 PM   #9
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


I would go to the appeals board for an exception. you have an alum structure there now they might take that into consideration. $700.00 sounds high. here on the island its $150. The original canopy should of had snow supports under the center that you remove after the winter season. that's why she sagged. also how well do you get along with your neighbors, if you proceed with out the proper permits they could drop a quarter on you and then you'll have to apply anyway, plus fines.
Just my 2 cents Good luck BOB

Last edited by buletbob; 07-24-2008 at 12:27 PM.
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 04:39 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by buletbob View Post
I would go to the appeals board for an exception. you have an alum structure there now they might take that into consideration. $700.00 sounds high. here on the island its $150. The original canopy should of had snow supports under the center that you remove after the winter season. that's why she sagged. also how well do you get along with your neighbors, if you proceed with out the proper permits they could drop a quarter on you and then you'll have to apply anyway, plus fines.
Just my 2 cents Good luck BOB
Thanks for your reply Bob! There's no problem with the neighbors, as their carport has been built to the property line, which is not allowed, so the last guy they want to see around here is an inspector.
I have been supporting the centre with 2X4's, but I was out of the country last year and wasn't here to place them. Of course they could have placed before I left, but in rush to get away, I never thought of it.
I've only owned this property for two winters.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Beam Size


Not to play Devil's advocate, but the structure you seem to be planning requires a proper footing and foundation, none of which you have with the current structure. If they discover it, the whole thing might have to be taken down.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 02:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
Not to play Devil's advocate, but the structure you seem to be planning requires a proper footing and foundation, none of which you have with the current structure. If they discover it, the whole thing might have to be taken down.
Ron
The devil has been to my door already Ron. The present concrete deck was built on a poured foundation. The earth was excavated down, 24" and formed up 24". The soil is a sandy loam.
The inspection office has informed me that it must have footings down to the 48" level.
It is my intention to install piers at suitable intervals to support the existing foundation.
This was to be my next question to the forum! As to whether piers would be acceptable or does it have to be a continuous footing?
I hate to undermine the existing foundation, as it has been stable for 50 years and I'm concerned that I will lose this.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 07:23 AM   #13
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


I would not worry about the whole foundation! You said the only support is going to be two 6x6"s This is where you need the footings. 12"x 12"x48"
BOB
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 03:12 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by buletbob View Post
I would not worry about the whole foundation! You said the only support is going to be two 6x6"s This is where you need the footings. 12"x 12"x48"
BOB
Could you enlarge on what size for the footing. As I plan to rest the 6"X6" posts on the corner of the concrete deck, which rests on a 8" concrete wall, that has 24" in the ground.I would like to support the wall with a 8" (circular)X24"(high) pier that rests on a 16"X16"X4" pad.
Would this be a problem?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:06 PM   #15
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Beam Size


I'm Sure the foundation is strong enough to carry the 6x6 and what your going to impose upon it, Bu the frost line is what I would be concerned about , Did you say it was 4' in you region? could you under pin the corner 12" on either side and fill with concrete. then you will be fine.

Advertisement

buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSB Stronger than Plywood? Weathermaker01 Flooring 15 12-22-2012 10:06 AM
Beam Replacement? Steve Dailey Carpentry 5 05-19-2008 09:46 PM
Beam Size sevver Carpentry 15 04-30-2008 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts