Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-03-2011, 08:28 AM   #1

Share |

Basements drainage in South Africa

Hi All

Im a South African Student currently studying Civil Engineering. I have to write a paper on basement drainage solution for existing homes. The problem is there are not a lot of basements in SA! You guys in the US have a lot more first hand experience and I hope you could help me out. My project needs to include a short(5page max) guidebook in which I describe the different causes of dampness in basements, different solutions/systems and some kind of a flow diagram that a homeowner can follow to arrive at a solution. The diagram will start with a the problem and then site specific questions etc will elliminate some solution until ariving at a solution.

This is what I have so faronly problems caused by groundwater is considered+condensation, no burste pipe or water from other floors etc)

The main sources of damp
  • Lateral penetration(seepage)
  • Rising damp
  • Condensation
  • Rising water table(flooding)
The solutions
  • External drainage(french/fin drains)+sump
  • Chemical damp proof course
  • Internal cavity drainage system+sump
  • Dampproof Membranes(interior or exterior of wall)
  • Waterproof membranes(interior or exterior of wall)
Can you guys tell me which systems are the best and cheapest for each type of problem. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Are there any similar guides available???

Ernst Conradie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 09:32 AM   #2