Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-14-2012, 10:01 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Basement Window Well Replacement

Hey Guys,

I'm a complete DIY newbie, and outside of a little bit of sanding, some painting, and a semester of home room at school, I'm not really one for DIY.... but that's about to change... I've just put an offer in on a house, and during the inspection it was pointed out that some of the window wells will need to be replaced due to rust over the next year or two, and then 2 others in probably the next 5 years. Considering they're near 10 years old, and in Colorado, that doesn't seem too bad, right?

The question is more around should this be my first DIY job, and if so, what sort of costs would I be looking at if I did it myself, and if not, what would I look to spend if I got someone else to do it for me ?

Any advice would be great!!! Thanks in advance!!

neogenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:46 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 502

Do you have a buddy/coworker/aquaintance who has done this before who you can offer a few beers to to come over and coach you through it?

Even with all the great advice you get here, you may still want someone with some know how looking over your shoulder. There is always some little thing you may not know once you dig into a project.

What type/size windows are these? Are they built into the foundation? Replace with regular windows or glass block?

B

Beepster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:50 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 3,320

A picture would sure help everyone out here.
If it's just those curved galvinized metal ones, all you need is a shovel.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:59 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beepster View Post