Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-24-2010, 10:23 PM   #1

Share |

Basement Window Trouble...

So... I decided to replace the basement windows. Since this is my first time doing windows, I feel really lost and I haven't even started. maybe that's part of the problem.

My existing windows look like this, minus the vent, but you get the picture.
http://homerepair.gregvan.com/baseme...ent_window.htm

The windows that I purchased look and are constructed identical to this:
http://bellwindowsystems.com/

My foundation walls are 8" thick poured concrete. And the new window width is also 8" thick.

My issue is that I was a bit over careful when ordering the windows and I now have a 1" clearance on all sides at my narrowest measurements. I'm just not sure how to shim and fasten them to the foundation.

Also, the fact that the construction of the new window frame is extruded vinyl (ie. box shaped profile), I'm scared to drill through it and secure with tapcon's because I feel that the material will buckle or crack when secured, let alone let water in if I made pre-drilled holes.

Any suggestions on how I should secure it into place?
Also, because I'm going to have a 1" gap all around, what kind of product should I use for the exterior trim?

Thanks,
Shaun

jalbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 11:22 PM   #2

Can you fir out w/ treated wood, small shims, and a generous glob of caulk? The treated wood would give you something to nail the trim pieces to on the inside. What does the manufacturer recommend for flashing around the outside, and for securing? It looks like one section has a steel insert; for securing the window through it?

jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:46 AM   #3

I've tried contacting the manufacturer but they're not returning my calls.