Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2010, 11:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Share |
Question

Basement subfloor and Radon - ideas?


Hi,
I have a minor radon problem in the basement (below the "Action Level") but given the medical history of my family, I am not taking any chances.
To remediate radon, there are two options:

1 - concrete wall isolation
2 - active soil decompression

I am going for option 1 since option 2 is a crapshoot due to the unknown porosity of the soil under the slab. Long story.

For option 1, I am first treating the concrete (slab and walls) with a sealing compound (a reactive type, sodium-silicate based) to minimize the porosity of the concrete. On top, I'll paint with a gas-resistant water-based membrane (i.e. Blue Seal).
So far, no problem.

However, now I need to add a sub-floor and frame the walls.
The whole issue is that the sub-floor needs to have a high R value AND, here is the tricky part, the concrete should not be pierced (nor the walls nor the floor). Traditional sub-floor building process is to use 2x4 on the flat side nailed to the concrete. This is a no-no for me.

How about this?

Step 1: A sub-floor of 2x4 on the thin (not flat) side floating on the painted concrete on top a flexible layer of plastic sheet. Between the sleepers, expanded polystyrene. On top, traditional OSB T&G.

Step 2: Traditional framing for the walls, but nailed/screwed to the ceiling rafters and the sub-floor (not the concrete).

Would this be acceptable (Ontario, Canada)? or does the sub floor absolutely, positively needs to be nailed to the concrete?

Any ideas would be *very* welcomed!

Oh, I forgot. If the idea above is OK, how do I deal with the sloping near the floor sink? I mean, I think the concrete floor still needs to slope towards the sink but what about the subfloor? Does it need to slope too? Or do I just level it?


Last edited by globus999; 06-16-2010 at 12:03 PM.
globus999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 12:16 PM   #2
Member
 
gmhammes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 476
Default

Basement subfloor and Radon - ideas?


do you have a sump pit?

gmhammes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Basement subfloor and Radon - ideas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gmhammes View Post
do you have a sump pit?
Nope. Not necessary. The basement is dry as a bone. Never had any problems...Yes, I know, if I had one I could have tapped it. But this is not the case. Besides, even if I had one, chances are the porosity is not homogeneous. This means, several holes in several places throughout the slab... ugh...
globus999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:31 PM   #4
Member
 
gmhammes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 476
Default

Basement subfloor and Radon - ideas?


Gotcha. Hopefully some will be around to help you out shortly!
gmhammes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 45
Default

Basement subfloor and Radon - ideas?


Short of using an adhesive in lieu of mechanical fastening, nothing immediately comes to mind.
Hohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.