Basement Beam - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By carpdad

Old 02-16-2017, 11:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Basement Beam

Can some have a look at the pictures and tell me if this would pass engineering? On the side of the beam they put a 2x6 (or 8) and then put the floor joists on top of the 2x6. The other beam in the basement has floor joists on top pf the beam. Why wouldn't you put on top of beam?
Attached Thumbnails
Basement Beam-20170216_164003.jpg   Basement Beam-20170216_163519.jpg  

Advertisement

Jrflys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 11:50 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,882

Re: Basement Beam

Looks to me like it would work okay, but I am not an Engineer. Using a Ledger to support the joist ends has been a technique used over the years. 2 x 6 looks better than a 2 x 4. Lots of nails to hold it.
What I can't see very well is whether there is any blocking at the ends, which is common to have installed when a joist might "roll". Usually joist hangers on a Flush beam do not require the blocking, but I don't see any hangers either.
It might be simpler to Board if there was another length of 2 by material used as a spacer to pad out the beam so there is no "jog" in the drywall.

Advertisement

Old 02-17-2017, 06:26 AM   #3
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 5,554

Looks like there was some after the fact engineering. Perhaps the floor was spongy and they were trying to beef it up?
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-2017, 07:46 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 950

As is, there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
1. change in floor levels? could be owner, not the builder, decision
2. forgot the different joist sizes and just used what's available or didn't bother with small details (which is correct decision)