Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-10-2009, 10:59 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Basement Addition

Hello, this is my first post here. I appreciate any direction that can be offered.

We have a house with a full finished basement underneath. What I would like to do i actually add on to the basement. We were thinking of excavating a 24x16 area behind our house, laying down block and adding to the basement. All of that, I know can be done. My question is what to do above it. I originally wanted to put a full addition or sun room on top, and just an a frame roof. But, I think that project may ultimately be more cost than we can bear.

What other options do I have? Is it possible to have a basement with a porch over top? Or even just a deck? I am an amateur here, so I am just looking for what CAN be done. I live in New Jersey, btw. Thanks for taking a look

HC

showtime14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:35 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

Basement Addition

For cost I would at least add the "closed-in" addition. This means the framing and roofing. Leave the windows boarded over and even tyvek used for temporary siding. This way you protect the basement without wasting money with a waterproof roof/floor . Now you can start to finish the addition at your leisure.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 12:05 PM   #3

Basement Addition

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
For cost I would at least add the "closed-in" addition. This means the framing and roofing. Leave the windows boarded over and even tyvek used for temporary siding. This way you protect the basement without wasting money with a waterproof roof/floor . Now you can start to finish the addition at your leisure.