Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2009, 07:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


Hello,

I am going to install a 32 x 60 inch tub surround (3 piece) around a new tub that I purchased. Is it necessary to put up drywall on the studs or can I just shim the studs out to 32 x 60 and screw the tub/enclosure right to the studs? I've read in a few places that people have attached the surround right to the studs, I would like to go this route to save a bit on labor. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Bryan

upslims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 08:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


An interesting way of installing a tub surround. This is the way the instructions say to do it? Sort of defeats the water tightness by punching holes through the plastic .
But it will be quicker. And by god,that's all that matters.
When the rot and mold grow behind this project, how fast do you think it will take to fix it. Just ballpark it. No one will hold you to it.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 09:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


Is this tub surround rigid molded plastic resin & fiberglass (may work out) or floppy stamped polystyrene (probably won't work out)?

I would not punch holes and therefore would not use screws. Could construction adhesive work?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-06-2009 at 09:52 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 04:29 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 7
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


Hello again,

There were no instructions with the kit and it wasn't a cheap one. It is designed specifically for the whirpool tup with is made by Kohler. It is a very rigid plastic that locks into the tub where it meets it and has a flange at the top for screwing to the wall. My hope was to instulate where it meets the exterior walls (2) and then add a vapor barrier. I wasn't going to screw into the field of the surround. My thought is that some adhesive along the studs and screws across the flange would do the trick.
upslims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 04:33 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 7
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


and Ron6519 thanks for the patronization but I'm not an idiot.
upslims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 04:44 AM   #6
Man of many hats
 
wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 494
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


Assuming you have a product similar to this:
http://www.sterlingplumbing.com/onli...laimada_02.pdf
then, yes, you do attach it directly to the studs with the sheetrock overlapping the flange after you have secured it.
__________________
Man of many hats
wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:04 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by upslims View Post
and Ron6519 thanks for the patronization but I'm not an idiot.
The logical, common sense thing to do would have:
1. Contacted the store where you purchased it and have them gotten you the installation instructions.
OR
2. Gone online to the manufacturer and gotten the installation instructions

Not gone online and ask a question about installing an unknown product so everybody can guess what you have.
I guessed you were cheap homeowner who was going to ,and I quote, "....can I just shim the studs out to 32 x 60 and screw the tub/enclosure right to the studs?"

If you are not an idiot, I apologize.
But I would still get those instructions.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 08:33 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


If you did put up drywall first, where would the tub surround touch the drywall? You can simulate the "back support" of the drywall by shimming the studs as needed. Support on 16 inch centers will probably suffice for a rigid tub surround.

Yes, if a flange is provided to take screws, go ahead and screw there.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-07-2009 at 08:36 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 09:08 AM   #9
Drywall contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2,094
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


I've never seen a tub surround that goes on top of the drywall. You would then have to put up another layer to cover the lip on the surround.....
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a soldier. Support our troops.
bjbatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 09:20 AM   #10
Enormous Member
 
skipjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 122
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


Quote:
The logical, common sense thing to do would have:
1. Contacted the store where you purchased it and have them gotten you the installation instructions.
OR
2. Gone online to the manufacturer and gotten the installation instructions
The logical common sense thing to do in your case, Ron6519 would be not to make assumptions and be a condescending jerk to the O.P. and actually try to help.

I plan on installing a similar surround this summer and would really like to hear the answer to his question.
skipjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 09:36 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 7
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


Hello again,

Found the instructions from Sterlings website. Had to dig but they were there. They show the surround going directly onto the studs.
upslims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 09:39 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 155
Default

attaching tub surround directly to studs?


You could do it but that stuff is really thin and will flex a lot when you touch it. Just put up some green board or something with no paper on it then glue the tub surround to it with construction adhesive overlapping the tub lip like your would with tile. Seal up the bottoms and corners with silicone and you're good. I wouldn't put it right on the studs though.

jayp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attaching Studs to Concrete/Which way mjkpainting Carpentry 17 12-30-2008 10:02 AM
attaching corner bead to metal studs ar2736 Building & Construction 2 10-28-2008 11:32 AM
Attach Shower Surround to Studs on Outside wall? BillyDIY Plumbing 2 08-25-2008 01:09 PM
using 8' studs vs 7'-9" studs RINAIL Carpentry 2 07-10-2008 04:16 PM
Attaching kitchen cabinets directly to studs with no drywall between nrabate Carpentry 7 08-28-2007 09:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.