Attaching A Foundation - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2008, 03:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attaching a Foundation


I'm looking at adding a 10' X 8' room to my kitchen. It will be a crawl space. 40" in hieght, 8" wide and a footing of 16" width and 8" height. How do I connect the new foundation to the old foundation. I realize I need to drill holes into the old foundation and use #4 bar or some of ther type of attachment. Do I need to use a type of weather proofing material between the new concrete and the old concrete. If so, what do I use? I a haven't been able to find good info on the internet or pictures to help with this. Is the weatherproofing installed before I poor the new concrete.
Thanks

Advertisement

Dirtyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 05:30 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attaching a Foundation


if you excavate down to the bottom of the existing footer and drill 2-3 holes 6" to 8" deep around the center,then hammer in #4 or #5 rebar (depends on the size of your holes) and leave 8"+ sticking out into the new footer that should anchor it properly, although I would double check with your local code enforcement officer to see if they have any hoops for you to jump through

Advertisement

rocklyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 06:19 AM   #3
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,820
Rewards Points: 2,274
Default

Attaching a Foundation


Quote:
Do I need to use a type of weather proofing material between the new concrete and the old concrete.
Ayuh,.....
The new Concrete itself should form a Tight Seal.......
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 08:13 AM   #4
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Attaching a Foundation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondo View Post
Ayuh,.....
The new Concrete itself should form a Tight Seal.......
yep...
__________________
- Build Well -
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 06:32 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attaching a Foundation


Fill the hole w/epoxy then insert the rod...clean the orig. concrete well and brush some bonding agent on before the new pour.
cnydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floor Joists Lifting Off Foundation Walls?! cbeingessner Building & Construction 2 06-12-2008 09:39 AM
Stone foundation for a small shack andrgo Building & Construction 10 09-13-2007 02:49 PM
I need help Re: Poured Slab Foundation - Moved to Plumbing alextina Plumbing 6 04-19-2007 05:35 PM
Addition Foundation /Build. advice wannabuild Remodeling 3 12-15-2006 07:28 PM
re-enforcing foundation - southern cal jhb Building & Construction 1 10-02-2006 01:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts