Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-18-2005, 03:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to urbansurgery
Share |

Artex everywhere

my wife and i moved into a new house (new to us) that was artexed to death about 15 years ago

having spent a good while this past weekend trying to steam and scrap it off - i managed less than 1metre squar ein 2 hours

we have resolved that maybe it would be better to get someone to skim over the lot when we get bits of the rest of the house plastered

question is - can they skim over painted artex or will we have to go through the removal process even if we want it plastered in the end?

urbansurgery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 06:16 AM   #2

Artex everywhere

Im no expert - but we're facing the same problem as we just move into our first new home.

I've asked a few people and they've all said - it depends on the artex. If its a really pronounced design - with deep grooves - apparently, you need to knock these off and "smooth" it down as otherwise the skimming wont be smooth ...

For some bizarre reason, our house has artex on it that looks exactly like wood-chip (!) which isn't that bad as it isn't deep but, my god, it just has to go!!!

Hope this helps - but as I said - Im no builder person!

PatriciaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2005, 03:45 AM   #3

Artex everywhere

i too has a lot of artex in my passage, and after trying sanding and the rest i found the solution.

Get a spray bottle, fill it with hot water and spray the artex, even if it is painted.
Now get a paint scraper and away you go.
Chris2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 05:45 PM   #4

Artex everywhere

Its a lot easier to get a plasterer in to skim over the ceilings, if you can afford it! and you get a nice smooth finish. You don't know what the artex is hiding.