Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2008, 11:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Arched beam radius


I am building a 24' span bridge and will be building an arched laminated beam. The beam will have a 27' radius for the arch, my question is, my hand rail which will be 40" high and arched, what would be the correct radius to use when making my rail? Would it be 27' plus the 40" to equal 30.5'? I am making a large jig to construct the beam and want to plan ahead for the various radius' I'll need to construct.

tee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 11:53 AM   #2
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,448
Default

Arched beam radius


40"/12=3.333'
27+3.333=30.333'
30'4" radius

I built my 20' span with 12" grouted concrete blocks, used a 30" poly pipe, tied the walls with ss cables and back filled with stone. I can drive my pick up over it.

I'd also consider lighting this bridge.

Added: I sure hope you get a permit and an engineers approval for this design.

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.

Last edited by 47_47; 07-16-2008 at 12:07 PM. Reason: added
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 12:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Arched beam radius


Great, that's what I was thinking even though my math was off a little. The bridge is just a fancy garden bridge over a small creek that will only have limited foot traffic at best, it's more for decoration than anything so I wasn't planning on a permit.


Thanks for the help
tee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 03:47 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Arched beam radius


Depending on where you live, there can actually be some big issues with building over creeks/waterways. In the city I work we have several creeks that feed a larger creek, and little bridges like you described require state permits and Corps of Engineers permits. With those two agencies involved, our city permit is required but rather insignificant. The State and the Corps are super-serious about this sort of thing, and it doesn't matter whether it is on private property or not.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSB Stronger than Plywood? Weathermaker01 Flooring 15 12-22-2012 09:06 AM
Beam Replacement? Steve Dailey Carpentry 5 05-19-2008 08:46 PM
Basement Beam and Columns..... shamrock33 Building & Construction 1 03-19-2008 05:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.