Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-10-2011, 10:17 AM   #1

Share |

Another 2x6 cathedral ceiling

So I have done plenty of research on this topic and haven't found all the answers I need. The usual disclaimer: I am not a builder by trade and do not know all the correct terms. I bought a single story ranch last year. There is a bonus room that is built on a slab. This room had a half cathedral ceiling with very strong mold smells. Tore the room down to studs to find foam board insulation just pressed against the underside of the roof with mold from lack of air flow. I would like to put this room back together with a full cathedral ceiling. The rafters are 2x6 and there are no collar ties and just a few 2x4's as joists in the area that wasn't cathedral. It is a smaller room (15x11 ish). The peak runs in the long direction of the room, and the rafters are angle cut and set on top of the walls (common rafter construction).

I am on a very tight budget here and this home is not a forever home so it doesn't have to be the best insulation job with an R5000 value like I see some people trying to achieve.

Foam insulation, I am guessing, is out of the question due to cost.

I can either furr out the 2x6's or sister them. What I am unsure of is where the wall line meets the ceiling line. The only options I see is to either shorten the wall by carrying the new ceiling line down at the same angle as original, or taper the new rafters in at the bottom creating 2 different angles as you go up the ceiling line.

I am not trying to meet a specific code R-value, just trying to make the room comfortable to live in and as an added bonus.. mold free.