Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2008, 04:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


someone suggested to me that adding fibers to concrete mix prevents subsequent cracking.

was wondering if there are any downsides to doing this ?

thx,

- a -

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:30 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,289
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


Downside, having a bunch of the fibers spilt on the ground. It is supposed to add strength to the concrete without putting in Re-Bar.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
someone suggested to me that adding fibers to concrete mix prevents subsequent cracking.

was wondering if there are any downsides to doing this ?

thx,

- a -
How big of an area and what kind of project are you asking about?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


800 sq ft basement. most of it has been paved although i will redo some (did not use styrofoam insulation under). but i like using remash, if remash does the same as fibers, i will just do that.

thx,

- a -
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 05:06 PM   #5
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,793
Rewards Points: 2,074
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


Fibers are never a substitute for wire mesh - PERIOD!!!!

Fibers do not increase the compressive strength of concrete.

Fibers can help with micro-cracking.

If you have no experience finishing fibers don't do it!

If you are thinking of adding fibers to a mix you are making, don't do it - A recipe for a problems because of the lack of knowledge of proper mixing time to make them work.
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 05:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Question

adding fibers to concrete mix


you convinced me.

Q: does remash prevent micro-cracking ?

the portion of the floor that i paved and will redo using nothing but concrete and gravel (stupid beginner's mistake) already has some cracks. the rest where i did use reinforcement and insulation is not cracked anywhere.

thx,

- a -
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:19 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


What's remash? Is that a local term for wire mesh?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,240
Rewards Points: 502
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


Second stage on your way to moonshine out in the hills....
Tscarborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Talking

adding fibers to concrete mix


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
What's remash? Is that a local term for wire mesh?
Ron
yes i thought that was the term, ha ha. same thing.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Talking

adding fibers to concrete mix


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tscarborough View Post
Second stage on your way to moonshine out in the hills....
this is brilliant took me a while to get it though. you must be from franklin county, VA.

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:50 PM   #11
general contractor
 
A.W.Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
someone suggested to me that adding fibers to concrete mix prevents subsequent cracking.

was wondering if there are any downsides to doing this ?

thx,

- a -
If you have expansion joints in your concrete, the cracks typically follow the joint(s). I would never substitute rebar for the fibermesh unless the area is too shallow for rebar. We did a job where we repaired some rotted cantilevered breezeways in a condo complex and repoured without rebar and used fibermesh in our pour. We made expansion joints and used sikaflex in the joints to help control the cracks. There was never any cracking of the concrete down the line.
A.W.Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:56 PM   #12
ICF Construction
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 314
Rewards Points: 250
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


I'm standing with ConcreteMasonary on this one.

just to add to it, if you are not finishing the top of the floor with anything, the concrete is fuzzy until you wear it off by walking or moving stuff on it, if you use metal mesh pieces than I have seen rust stains all over the floor...that does wonders if you acid stain the floor at a later date.
__________________
Chris
Chris Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 11:04 PM   #13
general contractor
 
A.W.Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding fibers to concrete mix


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Johnson View Post
I'm standing with ConcreteMasonary on this one..
Quote:
Originally Posted by concretemasonry View Post
Fibers are never a substitute for wire mesh - PERIOD!!!!
Fibers do not increase the compressive strength of concrete.
That also depends on the situation. You DO NOT want to use wire mesh,rebar or wire gridding on a cantilevered wooden structure such as a breezeway or a flat balcony because the material will pierce the bituthene underlayment and eventually cause a leak.

A.W.Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filling sunken living room w/ concrete Q's phil. Building & Construction 5 07-10-2009 12:03 PM
Sleeve options for plumbing through concrete? Bruce L Plumbing 6 06-14-2008 09:38 AM
new concrete floor next to old concrete floor mattroos Building & Construction 10 08-28-2007 01:32 PM
stone veneer formula tom1st Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 07-08-2006 04:48 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.