Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2009, 04:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding attic insulation


I want to add insulation over my existing insulation in my attic. The trusses are spaced 22" oc. My current insulation is fiberglass faced bats 22" that is probably 6" to 8" high.
Lowes has a sale on 15" unfaced insulation going on right now (R30). I am planning on just running this perpendicular to the existing insulation. Is this the right type of insulation to run? Should I just buy a wider unfaced insulation? I live in Florida.

My last question is in regards to a mezzanine in the attic. There is insulation under the mezzanine. Should I run the unfaced bats over the mezzanine? Will this cause any condensation problems (plywood acting as second vapor barrier)?

pomelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 04:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding attic insulation


Yes, you can install this perpindicular
You want unfaced to go on top of existing insulation
Wider means less "seems" overall - so slightly better

What do you mean by mezzazine?
Any pics?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 05:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding attic insulation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Yes, you can install this perpindicular
You want unfaced to go on top of existing insulation
Wider means less "seems" overall - so slightly better

What do you mean by mezzazine?
Any pics?
It is just a plywood deck on top of the lower chords of the truss. It is just a platform for storage.
pomelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 05:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,628
Rewards Points: 1,076
Default

Adding attic insulation


If you aren't getting condensation now I wouldn't think adding insulation to the top would cause it. Just run it on over as you said.

I did exactly what you described a few years ago and it made a noticeable difference in how often my A/C and furnace run.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation earthad1 Building & Construction 81 02-18-2011 12:42 PM
Adding insulation to only a portion of an attic? curls00 Building & Construction 22 10-27-2008 09:41 AM
Adding attic insulation and cutting soffits a DIY job? drh Roofing/Siding 15 12-31-2007 07:47 PM
attic insulation question dderolph Building & Construction 10 11-03-2007 05:21 PM
Is adding insulation in attic cost effective? AllGoNoShow Building & Construction 1 12-05-2006 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.