Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2010, 03:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

9' garage door header


My 9' garage door solid header had rot on the right half which I removed.
The remaining header is 10"x10" on the left untrimmed side but narrows on the right side to a trapezoid measuring 10" vertical, 4.5" on bottom and 9.5" on top.
So the beam at the weakest point has at least the strength of a 5"x10" header.
Is this enough for a flat roof with max snow load of 1'. The narrowest spot in the header is five feet from the corner of the roof.


Last edited by ifixfxs; 05-23-2010 at 11:13 PM. Reason: didn't take quotation marks for inches
ifixfxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

9' garage door header


The post is unintelligible. Look it over and repost.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,518
Default

9' garage door header


I understand you want to replace a rotting header. The rest I don't understand except that you aren't sure about size. Is there some reason you don't want to replace it with the same size that was there?
jogr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 11:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

9' garage door header


Replacing the header may not be necessary if the remaining header is adequate. We use over sized beams in Santa Fe for style. My hope is to build a false cover to conceal the missing portion which is about 25% of the cross sectional area of the header. Cost difference between this and replacement is about $300 vs $3000
ifixfxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 07:01 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 8
Default

9' garage door header


I also didn't understand the OP question.
rburke65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 01:15 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

9' garage door header


OP: "Is this enough for a flat roof with max snow load of 1'." ---------- NO. Not when the builder used a minimum 10x10" header because he had to pass inspection or the Engineered plans called it out. You now have 1/3 as much left, how would that suffice?

"So the beam at the weakest point has at least the strength of a 5"x10" header." ---- A structural Engineer evaluated this? Or are you guessing?

1. Where are you located?

2. What is the load? Joist span? Trusses bearing- span? Rafters/ceiling joists? Storage on c.j.s?

Be safe, Gary

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 12-Gauge Garage Jack Olsen Project Showcase 28 07-08-2012 10:21 PM
Garage Insulation DIYguy2000 Building & Construction 2 12-09-2009 07:41 AM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
new double garage murray1426 Building & Construction 4 05-23-2009 01:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.