Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-28-2007, 12:34 PM   #1

Share |
Question

880lb hoist from garage ceiling

I'm wanting to install an electric hoist in my garage very similar to http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=244155 . However, I'm not sure about the best/safest way to mount the hoist. It's rated for 880lbs, but my jeep hardtop probably only weight about 150lbs.

My garage ceiling (12') is 1/3 empty attic space and 2/3 2nd floor flooring (see pic). When I went up into the attic space I was surprised to see 2x4's (see pic). I'm a complete newbie to DIY, but my gut tells me not to hang 880lbs. from a few 2x4's. From what I've read here, those 2x4's are more for keeping the walls together than supporting the garage ceiling.

Any ideas on the best way to accomplish this? I'm open to any suggestions, including mounting the hoist on a wall if necessary. I've included the following pictures, so that I don't confuse anyone with the wrong terms or decriptions.

etriad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:06 PM   #2

I would suggest talking to an engineer about this if the hoist will be expected to hold 880 lbs., or is that just the max capacity?....If it is to be used for the same purpose of lifting a top off a jeep...how much does the top weigh?

send_it_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:13 PM   #3
Retired from the grind

He said the top weighed 150lbs.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:15 PM   #4
Retired from the grind

etriad, the "What is this", is most likely an engineered support beam. As for the 2x4s, that is typical for Roof Trusses. If I was you, I would probably look at a setup designed specifically for hoisting the hard top roof for your jeep, then risk getting woken up the next morning, when the whole set up comes crashing down.
Old 05-28-2007, 04:26 PM   #5

Quote: