Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-01-2012, 06:09 PM   #1

Share |

22x14 DECK W/ROOF SLIGHT SWAY NEED HELP FROM EXPERTS

I'm new to blogging so please let me know if I'm doing this wrong. I saw another blog, but it was dated 2011 so thought it may be better to post a new thread.

PROBLEM
I have some slight swaying/wiggling when you walk out to the outside corners of the deck. I want it rock solid so would like some suggestions. I DO NOT HAVE any bracing running diagonal on the bottom side of the deck nor do I have any knee braces as the 8x8 posts are wrapped in fiberglass pillars to that option is out unless I want to cut the fiberglass pillars.

DECK BUILDING DESCRIPTION
I am nearly complete on building a large deck with a roof on it that is attached to the home via a 2x12 ledger board and lag bolted in numerous areas.

I tend to over engineer things as you will see as I describe my deck. the deck is 22x14 with a roof on it that goes from drip line to drip line 26.' I put together some pretty decent drawings and have had the city inspector come out a couple of times to check things out.

His first comment was it was the strongest deck he had inspected. Local code is 30" deep x 12" diameter sitting on top of a 2' diameter footer. I went down 4' and used 2' diameter sonotubes all the entire length to about 4-6 inches above grade.

The bottom of the deck is about 11 ft about grade and I used two pressure treated 8x8s attached to galvanized plates with 12 or 18 inch j-bolts going into the concrete.