2' Cantilever - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2008, 12:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2' Cantilever


I would like to add a 2’ cantilever to the back of my house but I have some concerns:


1- If I simply extend the existing floor out (probably 2x12 construction) will the new wall support my roof or will I need to install beams where the existing wall is?
2- Are there any problems associated with having no overhang?
3- How far into the existing floor joists should my new 2x12’s extend?

*Please see my attachment.

Thanks
Brad
Attached Thumbnails
2' Cantilever-2_foot_extension.jpg  

Advertisement

bfackrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 01:37 PM   #2
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,824
Rewards Points: 2,136
Default

2' Cantilever


That is a lot of work for just an extra 2'.

What kind of a roof system (framed or truss) do you have?

You will have to tear into your old floor and sister some new joists as a minimum. This will also entail rerouting electrical and other utilities in the basement/crawl space.

Without an overhang, you will have to do some real planning to have adequate insulation over the 2' and to maintain ventilation of the attic area.

You will need an engineer to get a permit.

Advertisement


Last edited by concretemasonry; 01-28-2008 at 01:40 PM.
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 01:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2' Cantilever


Quote:
Originally Posted by concretemasonry View Post
That is a lot of work for just an extra 2'
The house is very small, two feet will add a lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by concretemasonry View Post
What kind of a roof system (framed or truss) do you have?
It's a house that I'm thinking about buying so I only took a quick glance into the attic and I believe it's framed construction. It's an older house and I don't remember seeing a lot of cross members.

How would framed or truss make a difference? Shouldn't the load always transfer straight down the wall?
bfackrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:28 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

2' Cantilever


for every 1ft of cantilever you have to have 2ft sistered onto the existing joist so if you want 2 ft your total board length is going to be 6ft total
is the roof already cantilever out 2ft if not you are going to lose head room. unless you do some roof work
PSHome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2' Cantilever


Thanks for the info.

Yes, the existing roof is already cantilevered. I'm just not sure if the new cantilevered floor will hold the weight of the roof.
bfackrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

2' Cantilever


i would put a beam where the existing wall is so that the roof doesnt have to depend on that cantilever to hold the weight depending on size o course if its a little area maybe but if its the whole side of a house no.
PSHome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 05:38 PM   #7
Remodeling Contractor
 
oldfrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Ct.
Posts: 225
Rewards Points: 152
Default

2' Cantilever


Quote:
Originally Posted by PSHome View Post
for every 1ft of cantilever you have to have 2ft sistered onto the existing joist so if you want 2 ft your total board length is going to be 6ft total
is the roof already cantilever out 2ft if not you are going to lose head room. unless you do some roof work

I wouldn't use this equation,without getting someone to look at the actual home.
It doesn't sound right to me,definitely not with a weight bearing wall on it.
oldfrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 06:11 PM   #8
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,824
Rewards Points: 2,136
Default

2' Cantilever


Adding a beam 2' from the new outside wall will be ugly and chop up the interior because of the depth usually required.

If you have a trussed roof, you are asking for a disaster since the present roof is designed to bear on the walls where it is now. Changing the bearing location can easily cause a roof system failure.

You need professional help since it is not as simple as you think.
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:21 PM   #9
Member
 
robertcdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2' Cantilever


That wall can NOT support that weight without an engineer getting involved.

Advertisement

robertcdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attaching deck ledger to cantilever ram80ran Building & Construction 13 04-18-2009 01:29 PM
How to built steps that cantilever out pgs_28 Building & Construction 18 04-22-2005 12:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts