Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 10:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Hi guys,

I'm new here and have some questions about wiring up a Zenith DualBrite Sensor Head (Model 5716) to our house lighting. Originally, we had a contractor install the sensor and lights, but recently the sensor died and we're trying to figure out how to rewire a new one up to the house.

The basic setup of our wiring is that the power is passed to a light switch, and from there the 2 lamps and motion sensor are connected to that. I took a picture and labeled the relevant parts of the wiring:


Now, I'm trying to follow the manual to hook up the wires but it's really vague in the sense that it only identifies the wires by color and not by what the connection is (ground, power, etc). The manual indicates I should hook all white wires together and the black control wire to the black junction box wire, and then connect the red control wire to the black lamp wire. It also says I can optionally connect the load across the white and red wires.

My problem is that when I opened the wiring on the house, all I see are a single black and single white wire connected together with a single green wire not connected together:


Any help with wiring this would be very appreciated! Thanks!

Advertisement

serratedauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:33 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Who removed the sensor?
The way it is wired now would bypass a sensor.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Right. The sensor was removed a while ago (don't ask by who), but yes right now it does work without the sensor. I want to wire the sensor back in the loop.
serratedauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:39 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Does the sensor have 2 or 3 wires, not counting the ground or green wire?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


The sensor has 4 wires (red, green, white, and black).

[edit] saw the last part of your post, it's 3 wires without the green [/edit]
serratedauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:40 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,381
Rewards Points: 3,556
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


It appears your new sensor needs a neutral where your old did not. I think you need a different sensor that only needs two wire and no neutral.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:41 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by serratedauto View Post
The sensor has 4 wires (red, green, white, and black).
The current wiring you have in the box will not work.
You need a hot wire and a neutral to feed the sensor, then a wire back to turn on the light.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:49 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Then I'm confused because this was the wiring that was installed by the contractor. Did Zenith change their sensors with new wiring since this was originally installed 8 years ago?
serratedauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:53 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Maybe, maybe not.
The only way it could have worked with the current wiring like this would be an illegal installion.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:57 AM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,381
Rewards Points: 3,556
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Did the old sensor have the same three wires?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:34 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Judging by the loose MC in the garage, I am betting that the original installation illegally used the ground for something other than what it was intended for.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-25-2012)
Old 11-25-2012, 11:03 AM   #12
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


K_Bus: to me it looks as if serratedauto has a hot with leg(for operating a switch)on that line.. being there's that's only single line coming out vs two( 1 for the hot feed.. the 2nd for the switch to the light). In that switch box in the attic there's the possibility that the neutral is tied in from the main feed coming in as a hotfor the switch to control the lights.

In the case.. the new light should operate just the same... once serratedauto following the diagram to connecting the wires in place. Unless Serratedauto dont want the light(s) controlled by the existing switch in the attic, the same wiring will operate the light. I've did an install similar to that format. And that all is was! AGAIN::: every scenario is different...

Last edited by JuzRick; 11-25-2012 at 11:09 AM.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:09 AM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


You are not following. What you see is existing. ALL motion detectors I've installed have needed a neutral to operate the electronics inside the detector. There isn't the correct wiring available in the existing set up to install a new motion sensor...unless they used the ground illegally.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:17 AM   #14
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You are not following. What you see is existing. ALL motion detectors I've installed have needed a neutral to operate the electronics inside the detector. There isn't the correct wiring available in the existing set up to install a new motion sensor...unless they used the ground illegally.

K_Buz: if how the electrician tied the line unto the switch in the attic(as to what is shown).. that neutral serves as they hot.. and the black is the switch leg(controlling the light).. "a verse hot"- is what im applying. I've seen it before done that way. Also wired a few that way vs pulling more wire(depending on the task of the job).
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:21 AM   #15
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Zenith Motion Sensor Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by JuzRick View Post
K_Buz: if how the electrician tied the line unto the switch in the attic(as to what is shown).. that neutral serves as they hot.. and the black is the switch leg(controlling the light).. "a verse hot"- is what im applying. I've seen it before done that way. Also wired a few that way vs pulling more wire(depending on the task of the job).

K_Buz::: I got it now. Different setup... totally!!!!

Advertisement

JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual wiring for motion sensor security light ent Electrical 2 09-14-2011 03:00 PM
Motion Activated Light Control Issue mbaudler Electrical 9 12-14-2010 09:52 AM
Dual-brite motion detector light to operate second light? downunder Electrical 2 09-10-2010 04:48 PM
Wiring 2 Motion Sensor Flood Lights Through Siding Datwood2009 Electrical 3 05-15-2010 11:16 AM
motion detector wiring (alarm systems) WendyS Electrical 3 02-25-2010 11:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts