Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-08-2010, 02:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Young Artist with question about LED's for installation

I'm going to re-ask a question I asked a while ago because I got some answers, but they were too complicated for me and I'm looking for a rather simple solution. Anyway, here it is!

Hi, I am a young artist (25) and I am in the conceptual stages of a piece I want to make, but have a few questions that require the aid of some knowledgeable electricians. Hopefully I can present my project and get some answers without too much confusion.

What I am looking to do is find a way to suspend a tube light (fluorescent, LED, whatever I can use or works best) in space using string. The problem, is that I want it to be lit, but not have to be attached to any sort of huge fixture like the ones on my ceiling that typically get long tubes put into.

Is there a way to power a tube lightbulb, (florescent, LED, or otherwise) without it being attached to a fixture, and without some crazy wiring that would need to be done.

For reference, I have a picture of the general idea that I am trying to convey:

So basically I'm wondering if it is possible, LED, fluorescent, or otherwise, to do something like this and power the bulb with a battery or a wall socket or something of the sort that will not require a big heavy ballast type thing.

Maybe there is something that already exists to help do this? Or maybe there is a special bulb that isn't LED or Fluorescent that can make this happen. Just hoping I can get a few answers.

Thanks in advance for any help!

-Scott

SX0T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 03:22 PM   #2
Sparkaholic

Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up

Check out this link for Lincandescent fixtures. The lamps are tubular like fluorescent but they are incandescent and I believe they only require 1-wire to each end.