Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-01-2009, 06:42 PM   #1

Share |

For you gadget junkies

http://www.designnews.com/file/3555-...structions.pdf

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:32 PM   #2
Tool Geek

For you gadget junkies

hayewe, Looking at those hex displays brings back a lot of memories to me. I was a Test Equipment designer starting in the 70's. I designed semi-automatic production test equipment in El Segundo where we pumped out a million circuit boards a year (that was before China)

Eventually we went to all Automatic Test Equipment but initially all the test Equipment was designed in house I used a lot of hex displays and DPM's that had BCD outputs routed to PROM's to get a Pass/Fail signal.

It was really a fun job for me, because designs were always changing so I had to come up with new ways to do things like making a production UV eraser for returned PWB's that had soldered in Eproms. I got pretty good at it so before we closed shop in 94 I was the T.E. Design Manager.

PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:48 PM   #3

For you gadget junkies

I used a lot of them too, PaliBob. I designed analog to digital converters used with load cells, pressure cells and thermocouples.
Old 10-01-2009, 09:58 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus

For you gadget junkies

I noticed a couple of 74 series chips in the circuit. I haven't seen anything designed around these for a long time.

To go way back, remember the Motorola HEP series? Early 70s?

My, how things have changed!

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 12:26 PM   #5
Tool Geek

For you gadget junkies

Hayewe, ADC’s were fun. The first Successive Approximation ADC I saw was in the middle 60’s at Douglas where I was in charge of the RW-300 computer that we used for Fourier Analysis of the 5,000 PSI hydraulic control surface systems on the Nike Zeus.