Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 02:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,219
Share |
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


IMO, those are the biggest POS screws because they are too soft. i get them stripped 50% of the time, feels like, when i use them against metal handy boxes. does anyone know of harder screws that won't strip in this application.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


You using a cordless drill by chance?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,219
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
You using a cordless drill by chance?
typically not. typically, i use a manual screwdriver. i find that flathead has a greater rate of success than phillips but still not completely.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:27 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


You must be doing something terribly wrong, because I've never had this issue.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
IMO, those are the biggest POS screws because they are too soft. i get them stripped 50% of the time, feels like, when i use them against metal handy boxes. does anyone know of harder screws that won't strip in this application.
Something seems very wrong. Just a tip is most of the yoke screws you can use a #1 square bit.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
brric (09-15-2012)
Old 09-15-2012, 02:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,219
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You must be doing something terribly wrong, because I've never had this issue.
maybe the little tongue on the box side where the hole is for attachment is at a slightly wrong angle coming from the factory or damaged in shipping. i've had that situation before. but even then, i think the screws should be more rigid, IMO, and not strip so easily. i think they strip more easily than the drywall screw, which is supposed to be the softest screw out there but the yoke screw is a lot harder to take out.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:38 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
maybe the little tongue on the box side where the hole is for attachment is at a slightly wrong angle coming from the factory or damaged in shipping. i've had that situation before. but even then, i think the screws should be more rigid, IMO, and not strip so easily. i think they strip more easily than the drywall screw, which is supposed to be the softest screw out there but the yoke screw is a lot harder to take out.
I've found most metal boxes are not tapped correctly, so i've been forced to tap the holes first... :-/
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-15-2012)
Old 09-15-2012, 02:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I've found most metal boxes are not tapped correctly, so i've been forced to tap the holes first... :-/
Could be just me, but I find that mostly in ceiling/light/octagonal boxes.

Do not have a clue why.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:52 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Could be just me, but I find that mostly in ceiling/light/octagonal boxes.

Do not have a clue why.
Poor manufacturing is my guess, I buy steel city metal boxes, and they have been just brutal.... not sure if Raco is any better or worse...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (09-15-2012)
Old 09-15-2012, 11:42 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Poor manufacturing is my guess, I buy steel city metal boxes, and they have been just brutal.... not sure if Raco is any better or worse...
Raco ??

That pretty much hit and miss on that one as well all it depending on the manufacting progress they used and someone did not take a look closer with the thead setting.

Couple time I find them off kinker it was kinda pain in butt so I have to tap them out or use the selftapper 6-32 or 8-32 screws to clean it out.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:20 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


The screws that came with the receptacles may be a little too skinny or the holes in the metal boxes may be a tad too big.

Then you might end up using the next larger size screw. It's a tad too big for the hole that was a tad too big for the previous screw. So you ream out the hole (use a tap, not a drill bit). Now everything is kosher except that if and when someone else replaces the receptacle, he has to remember to save the oversize screws.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-16-2012 at 06:26 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:32 AM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,669
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


I find the hole threads ok, but if you are not 100% accurate they will cross thread VERY easily.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:38 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

yoke screws that come with Leviton outlets getting stripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
IMO, those are the biggest POS screws because they are too soft. i get them stripped 50% of the time, feels like, when i use them against metal handy boxes. does anyone know of harder screws that won't strip in this application.
Have you installed *many* outlets in the past into metal boxes and not had this problem in the past, but now are just starting to have this problem?

Or is this your first time installing outlets? If first time, maybe you are forcing the screws in at the wrong angle? Try being more gentle. Also you can get replacement screws at the hardware store.

If this is a new problem for an experienced person, I would call Leviton. If these are made in China, they could be "counterfeit" and made with inferior materials. Leviton would want to know about that.

Also with things made in China, they at first manufacture them with the proper materials, then later swap out parts with cheaper parts and do not tell the U.S. company they are doing this - they hide it from their inspectors. Leviton would want to know about that as well.

Here China built themselves a bridge - it collapsed!
http://world.time.com/2012/08/27/bri...truction-boom/

Judge orders distributor to stop selling counterfeit Leviton products...
http://ecmweb.com/contractor/judge-o...viton-products
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Billy_Bob For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (09-16-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Loose stainless steel deck screws drtbk4ever Building & Construction 17 06-19-2012 09:26 AM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-08-2008 11:09 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.