Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2008, 08:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

xenon undercabinet lights using romex


Hello, i am installing 3 NSL xenon direct wire undercabinet lights in a row. After running 12/2 romex cable through the back knockout of the first light to bring in 120 v power, can i just run the romex inside the channel in the fixture ( where the wires are and 12v transformer ) to the seond and third lights through the side knock outs in parallel daisy chain fashion , instead of running in and out of the back knockouts to each fixture. my question is will it get very hot in the fixture that it would damage the jacket on the romex, or will i be ok. thanks for the help so not to confusde anyone can I daisy chain fixtures from one to another by running NM cable from the side knockout of one fixture to the side knockout of a nearbye fixture without having to the return the NM cable back through the wall?


Last edited by robin hood; 02-26-2008 at 10:36 AM. Reason: spelling
robin hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 08:53 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

xenon undercabinet lights using romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by robin hood View Post
Hello, i am installing 3 NSL xenon direct wire undercabinet lights in a row. After running 12/2 romex cable through the back knockout of the first light to bring in 120 v power, can i just run the romex inside the channel in the fixture ( where the wires are and 12v transformer ) to the seond and third lights through the side knock outs in parallel daisy chain fashion , instead of running in and out of the back knockouts to each fixture. my question is will it get very hot in the fixture that it would damage the jacket on the romex, or will i be ok. thanks for the help so not to confusde anyone can I daisy chain fixtures from one to another by running NM cable from the side knockout of one fixture to the side knockout of a nearbye fixture without having to the return the NM cable back through the wall?
I don't see a problem with it, if the fixture is rated for it. You you want to strip the jacket off the romex and of course use a connector every place it enters or exits the fixture. The worry here would probably be the cubic inch volume of the wire space.

InPhase277

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 08:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

xenon undercabinet lights using romex


so i do have to strip the jacket off the romex if it remains in the fixture? i only have 12/2 wire so there won't be many wires running in the box. when i strip the covering off, is it ok to leave the non covered copper ground open in the box with no sheathing? thanks
robin hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 09:23 AM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

xenon undercabinet lights using romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by robin hood View Post
so i do have to strip the jacket off the romex if it remains in the fixture? i only have 12/2 wire so there won't be many wires running in the box. when i strip the covering off, is it ok to leave the non covered copper ground open in the box with no sheathing? thanks
yes, and yes

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 11:16 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

xenon undercabinet lights using romex


thanks, are you sure i don't need to put electrica tape around the ground so it doesn't move around in the fixture ? thanks again for your help
robin hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 01:32 PM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

xenon undercabinet lights using romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by robin hood View Post
thanks, are you sure i don't need to put electrica tape around the ground so it doesn't move around in the fixture ? thanks again for your help
I am positive you don't have to put tape on the ground, because the whole metal frame of the fixture is already connected to it. However, it certainly won't hurt to put tape on it if it makes you feel better

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 02:02 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

xenon undercabinet lights using romex


inphase277

THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP ! APPRECIATE IT.

robin hood

robin hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
undercabinet puck lights ccalmonte Electrical 7 08-05-2008 08:25 PM
Porch lights with timer or photocell? ciera Electrical 4 10-29-2007 07:35 AM
Formula for changing lights to recessed bulbs? Jemo Electrical 12 01-26-2007 05:02 PM
Permenant wiring of undercabinet lights Steven Electrical 1 11-16-2006 10:53 PM
Converting plug-in undercabinet light to direct wire ccole10 Electrical 4 07-21-2005 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.