Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2008, 08:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Wrong plug?


I am rewiring my furnace, which is currently hardwired. What I am doing is putting in plugs in place of the hardwiring so that I can pull the plug and then plug into my generator if the power should go out so that I will have heat and hot water. The furnace is on a 15 amp breaker so I am using a 15 amp plug. When I plug it in the breaker trips. Why would this happen? I checked for shorts and there are none.

alpercata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 08:29 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Wrong plug?


Is it on the same breaker it was on before?

Pictures might help if you have a camera.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 09:23 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

Wrong plug?


Do it correctly and install a transfer switch and an emergency panel.

What you propose is not a Code compliant method.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:10 PM   #4
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Wrong plug?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Do it correctly and install a transfer switch and an emergency panel.

What you propose is not a Code compliant method.
Why not?
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:20 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Wrong plug?


Furnaces and water heaters are not cord and plug appliances, period. This is definately not a code-compliant wiring method.

A generator subpanel feeding the furnace, water heater, and whatever other circuits desired is the way to do this. With appropriate transfer gear that prevents backfeeding the service, the portable generator can be plugged into a dedicated receptacle "feeder" during a power outage.

What's being proposed is better than backfeeding the breaker with a generator, and therefore energizing the busbar of the panel and the entire electrical service. That is a great way to get a lineman killed when they think they're working on a dead line two blocks down the street.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:36 PM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Wrong plug?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post

What's being proposed is better than backfeeding the breaker with a generator, and therefore energizing the busbar of the panel and the entire electrical service. That is a great way to get a lineman killed when they think they're working on a dead line two blocks down the street.
Yeah, but it's probably not the electricity that kills him... It's the fall. Ok. Bad taste?
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:40 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Wrong plug?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Yeah, but it's probably not the electricity that kills him... It's the fall. Ok. Bad taste?
Yeah, bad taste.

Honestly, in that situation he's pretty much dead before he hits the ground.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM
GFI Plug Troubleshooting bryanchr Electrical 4 08-22-2008 05:28 PM
Is it safe to plug in this flourescent fixture? doofalot Electrical 2 08-16-2008 01:27 PM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.