Is This Wrong? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2009, 12:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is this wrong?


I have this (not sure what to call it) distribution panel as a first box after meter. Then the breaker panel inside the wall behind. Note that the breaker box has the grounds and neutrals bonded to the same row of connectors on either side and there is a jumper connecting them and everything is bonded to ground. At the inside breaker box shouldn't the grounds and neutrals have been separated? Does the box on the outside not count as the first box after the meter in this installation? If it matters there is a mix of old non grounded circuits and newer grounded circuits. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Is this wrong?-outside.jpg   Is this wrong?-inside.jpg  

Advertisement

Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 01:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Is this wrong?


Sorry I had to re-read your question. Yes you are right. The bonding of the neutral and ground happens in the service panel. (the top picture). The subsequent panel inside is considered a sub panel. In a sub panel the neutrals and grounds should be separated.

Advertisement


Last edited by J. V.; 08-22-2009 at 01:22 PM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 04:01 PM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this wrong?


Not only is it incorrect to have the grounds and neutrals on the same bar in that panel, but they are in the same hole as well
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 07:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is this wrong?


Suspected as much based on what I have learned here over the last few months. I appreciate your knowledgeable contributions to the foruml Would this have been okay say 25 years ago? I believe that's about the approximate age of the work.
Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 09:58 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this wrong?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike in Arkansas View Post
Would this have been okay say 25 years ago? I believe that's about the approximate age of the work.
Nope, not then either
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 10:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is this wrong?


Thanks, Been like that for a long time, do you recommend I go ahead and separate the grounds and neutrals after all this time?
Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 11:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is this wrong?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Not only is it incorrect to have the grounds and neutrals on the same bar in that panel, but they are in the same hole as well
There is another major fundamental error in this original installation. There's no color coding on feeders entering the distribution box. The Neutral is colored Black. And so are the other, Ungrounded wires! (No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 01:49 AM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this wrong?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike in Arkansas View Post
Thanks, Been like that for a long time, do you recommend I go ahead and separate the grounds and neutrals after all this time?
I guess it depends on how much work is involved with getting a new ground wire installed. If I were even going to bother doing it, I would run an all new 4-wire feed, and clean up the panel all at once. Straighten all the rats' nest of wires up, and tidy up.

At the very least, I'd put the grounds and neutrals in their own holes on the bar.

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bathtub bottom squeaks. What's wrong? hohadcr Carpentry 2 07-27-2009 08:05 PM
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 03:44 PM
Pre slope question on shower floor - did I do it wrong? maestro300 Flooring 2 02-20-2009 03:44 AM
replaced 3way toggle with rocker switch - what's wrong? ellabo Electrical 8 09-22-2008 05:16 PM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 09:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts