Wrapping Tape Around Nuts, Switches And Receptacles - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2012, 10:06 PM   #16
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,639
Rewards Points: 1,072
Default

Wrapping tape around nuts, switches and receptacles


Anytime I see wirenuts or devices taped, my first thought is either 'hack' or 'amature'. There are exceptions, most notably devices in cut-in boxes that are held in place with Madison bars.

There's never a reason to tape a wirenut though.

About the only thing tape will accomplish is to leave a gooey mess for the next poor schmuck who has to work on it.

Rob

P.S. Occasionally, you'll read an article that recommends (or even demands) tape everywhere. These are almost always written by some sort of a sensationalist who is getting behind on his McMansion payments.

Advertisement

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:07 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Wrapping tape around nuts, switches and receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I have never seen it done that way, and I wonder what an inspector would say. I know what you are saying, but in reality, would it be allowed.

I guess the best argument the inspector would have is that the plastic box wasn't being used in the way it was intended if there were no knockouts in the box.

I love these technicalities.
Yeah, I don't know... personally, i don't use this method often, but it is handy when you come across someone else's fancy workmanship.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:29 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 859
Rewards Points: 694
Default

Wrapping tape around nuts, switches and receptacles


FWIW, in my case they are metal boxes with EMT conduits throughout.

Advertisement

miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace receptacles and switches.... rpearlberg Electrical 11 02-05-2012 10:35 AM
Why the wide price range in receptacles and switches? Evil Scotsman Electrical 11 11-23-2010 12:43 AM
Receptacles and switches not working. Help please. Learn3r Electrical 4 09-03-2010 09:09 AM
power panel missing, all receptacles & switches removed shortsell Electrical 2 03-24-2010 11:12 AM
Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles marc_easy Electrical 9 07-05-2009 11:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts