Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2008, 10:40 AM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


HI;

I am going to need to run #6 for the hot tub and to the attic for my Kitchen sub panel. So I need a lot of #6 (each run about 70 feet X 4 wires = 560).

I could save $200 if I get a spool of 500' black and reidentify the other strands. I am pretty sure you can only reidentify 4# and larger.

I know it is a technical violation of the code (I know some here have said it is one of the most minor violations there is), but (if this was your house and your $) would you reidentify the wire for your neutral? Would you reidentify for your ground? I'd love to save the $200, but I really want to stay compliant with all the codes. So I have mixed feelings on the issue and was hoping for a bit of feed back.

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:52 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
HI;

I am going to need to run #6 for the hot tub and to the attic for my Kitchen sub panel. So I need a lot of #6 (each run about 70 feet X 4 wires = 560).

I could save $200 if I get a spool of 500' black and reidentify the other strands. I am pretty sure you can only reidentify 4# and larger.

I know it is a technical violation of the code (I know some here have said it is one of the most minor violations there is), but (if this was your house and your $) would you reidentify the wire for your neutral? Would you reidentify for your ground? I'd love to save the $200, but I really want to stay compliant with all the codes. So I have mixed feelings on the issue and was hoping for a bit of feed back.

Jamie
I would re-identify it, smiling the whole time. We can all thump a code book, but man, it is literally just a piece of tape on a wire. Me and the inspector would probably have to roll around scrapping in the mud about such a tiny tiny tiny issue. It really is a non-issue. Save your money.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


I have re identified #6 neutrals, but not grounds. Can't you use a #10 for your grounds. That would give you less than 500' for the #6's and 150' of #10. If you do it make sure you re identify at every box, junction, and device.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 11:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
I have re identified #6 neutrals, but not grounds. Can't you use a #10 for your grounds. That would give you less than 500' for the #6's and 150' of #10. If you do it make sure you re identify at every box, junction, and device.

I think so, Id have to look at the tables again.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 07:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


I would not use a black conductor and color it green, get an actual green conductor of the appropriate size (I believe either #10 or #8 can be used here).

Will this be in a metallic raceway or non-metallic (ie PVC)?
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 07:46 PM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
I would not use a black conductor and color it green, get an actual green conductor of the appropriate size (I believe either #10 or #8 can be used here).

Will this be in a metallic raceway or non-metallic (ie PVC)?
3/4" EMT.
Jamie

Last edited by jamiedolan; 11-21-2008 at 08:01 PM.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 07:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Anyone know the rationale behind not re-identifying? Not me. . .
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 08:02 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Anyone know the rationale behind not re-identifying? Not me. . .

Alot of people mess up...nobody knows what the installer was thinking...just less confusion...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 11:42 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Our local inspector allows re identifying #6 on subs ect.......Of course I asked him first.
I think the reasoning is that tape is not permanent.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Our local inspector allows re identifying #6 on subs ect.......Of course I asked him first.
I think the reasoning is that tape is not permanent.
Better not tell that to 3M!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 05:38 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Better not tell that to 3M!
And maybe somebody makes colored heat-shrink tubing for this purpose.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:17 PM   #12
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


70 feet X 4 wires = 560? last i checked it was 280.....? am i missing something? probly.....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:36 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
70 feet X 4 wires = 560? last i checked it was 280.....? am i missing something? probly.....

DM
I am going to need to run #6 for the hot tub and to the attic for my Kitchen sub panel. So I need a lot of #6 (each run about 70 feet X 4 wires = 560).
Two runs.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:51 PM   #14
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Would you reidentify to save $$$


ah, ok.... long day staring at these things removing virus' from client's machines....

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to save money on project? PricelessDharma General DIY Discussions 5 01-20-2008 07:19 PM
Excavating my home to save a buck mikegeorge Building & Construction 5 02-27-2007 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.