Would This Be Allowed By Nec Code? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2012, 01:41 AM   #1
i carved this sword
 
feralfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 81
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


i know this isnt in a box and that code requires it but its only for instructional purposes so i just cut some wire pieces to ask my question:

the wire on top is meant to be the wire off last plugin in a circuit, and the bottom is suppose to be a wire going to a new outlet to be installed in the circuit, the box we have is one that doesnt have a place to attach a ground wire to, so in this picture i did what i think is called a tap splice, right to the original line, with the black going to the brass and white to silver, is that ok? do i need to do something different? i need to install at least one of these for an entertainment area to be covered by a warranty on a surge protector in the event of a lightning strike, right now i have a tv and my new xbox 360 on an extension cord and the warranty states that i cant use that cord, it has to be directly in an outlet, and id hate to have lightning take out over a 1000 bucks of electronics, (a big tv and the xbox plus my ps3) and not have it covered

Advertisement


Last edited by feralfreak; 10-17-2012 at 01:51 AM.
feralfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 02:16 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Rewards Points: 250
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


I am not sure if a "tap splice" is allowed or not but for a secure connection, why not pigtail a third ground by wire nutting them together, then attach the other side of your pigtail to the outlet?

Also, if you have two different circuits going to an outlet, you would want to make sure that matched black/white set is attached to a given receptacle.

Good luck

Advertisement

allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 02:49 AM   #3
i carved this sword
 
feralfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 81
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by allthumbsdiy View Post
I am not sure if a "tap splice" is allowed or not but for a secure connection, why not pigtail a third ground by wire nutting them together, then attach the other side of your pigtail to the outlet?

Also, if you have two different circuits going to an outlet, you would want to make sure that matched black/white set is attached to a given receptacle.

Good luck
what im looking to do is add to an existing circuit by an outlet or 2.

pigtail, do you mean cutting the wire that goes to the ground, then twist the 3 ends(from the cut and from the new ground) under the nut? i havent considered that, but ill consider it now
feralfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 03:30 AM   #4
i carved this sword
 
feralfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 81
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?




i cut back the ground wire that goes out to the next plug and found a green wire nut (we have a lot of stuff left from when we had our house wired) with a hole in it, im assuming that its for purposes like this, laid the new ground(from the bottom 12/2wg) along side the ground from the last outlet before it and twisted it, is that how its done or do i need to pinch it with pliers or this crimping/cutting/stripping thingy?
feralfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:21 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Just twist the greenie really tight so that both conductors twist.
Also, leave a few inches longer out of the greenie. DO NOT just leave barely enough to put on the screw.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
feralfreak (10-21-2012)
Old 10-17-2012, 07:24 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


That is fine.
The ground connection in the first picture is not allowed by code.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
feralfreak (10-21-2012)
Old 10-17-2012, 07:45 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by feralfreak View Post
the wire on top is meant to be the wire off last plugin in a circuit, and the bottom is suppose to be a wire going to a new outlet to be installed in the circuit,
For future reference a wire is a wire and a cable is not a wire.
Attached Images
 
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
feralfreak (10-21-2012)
Old 10-17-2012, 08:06 AM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,667
Rewards Points: 2,642
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Here is an example of a pig tail setup....(ignore the longer than necessary wires...I already got 'counsoled' on that)



I did a thread on it....got some great input....(I'll see if I can find it)....but one suggestion that one of the regulars gave...use the green wire nuts....they have a hole in the middle...so you leave one wire longer....this is the one that goes to the outlet....love them little jewels....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
feralfreak (10-21-2012)
Old 10-17-2012, 11:50 AM   #9
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Depending on where you are you must crimp your grounds instead of a wire nut
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:57 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,042
Rewards Points: 2,882
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dierte View Post
Depending on where you are you must crimp your grounds instead of a wire nut
That must be a local thing. It is not an NEC requirement.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (10-17-2012), brric (10-17-2012), ddawg16 (10-17-2012), frenchelectrican (10-18-2012), Speedy Petey (10-17-2012), stickboy1375 (10-17-2012)
Old 10-17-2012, 12:41 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


[quote=ddawg16;1032486]Here is an example of a pig tail setup....(ignore the longer than necessary wires...I already got 'counsoled' on that)[quote]

It's like that receptacle is reaching out to grab someone. Its the right idea though.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:46 PM   #12
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port

That must be a local thing. It is not an NEC requirement.
Its a county thing here
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:49 AM   #13
i carved this sword
 
feralfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 81
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


my stepfather had a slightly different idea for the wiring project, instead of tracking down where one circuit ends, we decided to just add a new circuit, and i did the outlet myself(he will do the connection to the fuse box or whatever its called), i thought i should post pics of my work to see if i did it right(my first outlet installation):

i did the connection with the wire going in the direction of the screw and steered clear of those little holes on the back and tightened it down




i wasnt sure if i should push/fold the wires into the box or pull the excess out back through the entry holes, but i thought if i ever have to change it it might be best to tuck them back in, was that right?




before i came here i saw on videos on youtube that it would be a good idea to wrap electrical tape around the connections so i did that after i double checked my connections, is that ok?

feralfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 10:05 AM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,042
Rewards Points: 2,882
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Wrapping tape just creates a mess. you should not be removing the devices with the power on so the tape adds no advantage.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:49 PM   #15
i carved this sword
 
feralfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 81
Default

would this be allowed by nec code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Wrapping tape just creates a mess. you should not be removing the devices with the power on so the tape adds no advantage.
i was thinking about this earlier, should i remove the tape? did i create a safety hazard? im new to this stuff and i dont want to take any chances

Advertisement

feralfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Closet Lights Sav505 Electrical 52 12-28-2012 08:24 AM
Lighting proximity to outdoor hot tub - Code Question jeffinpickering Electrical 0 09-12-2011 02:43 PM
Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 ~kirkland~ HVAC 1 03-08-2011 07:14 PM
error code 45 Turtle learner HVAC 2 01-10-2011 05:09 PM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 08:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts