Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2010, 01:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

workshop wiring


I am running a 100A electrical service to my workshop. Rhe workshop is 150' from my breaker box and I plan on using #4 MC copper. What size should I use if I switch to aluminum.

zxcvbnm

zxcvbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 01:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

workshop wiring


#4 wire is not rated for 100a
Atthevery least you need #3 THHN, THWN if detached/buried wire
Alum you would need #1

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 12:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.