Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 09:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Workshop sub panel


Finishing up my 1500sq ft workshop and I want to run my electrical service soon. I have a decent amount of experience with this but want to run my plan by you guys to see if you see any problems. First,my shop is 150ft from my 200 amp main panel located in the basement of my house. My main panel is a square d homeline panel. I plan to install a 125 amp breaker in my main panel which I sourced online. I will run THHN #1 (4conductors) through 2" conduit. In my workshop I am going to install a 200amp homeline panel mainly due to available circuits. Neutral and ground unbounded. Ground rods at shop needed? Also, can my ground wire be smaller?

hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:48 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Workshop sub panel


Check the specs of the panel before you order the 125 amp breaker.
Most panels on allow a 100 amp branch breaker.
Other than that, your plan is fine.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 10:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Workshop sub panel


How can I look up the specs? Numbers on the box somewhere then look up online?
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 11:17 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Workshop sub panel


Hartkem.,

You should have model number in the front of the cover door or it will be located inside the panel useally either right or left side of panel but becarefull when you try to find the numbers make sure you watch out the conductors.

If this is SqD or GE or ClutterHammer or Seamens or other ??

Most will take 100 amp two pole breaker without issue but some may take larger like 125 amp two pole breakers.

If you still not sure just take a photo of whole panel one of us can indentify so we can guide ya in correct way.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-30-2013)
Old 07-01-2013, 08:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Workshop sub panel


I checked my panel tonight. It is a square D HOMC40UC. Can this panel support 125 amp breakers?

I also got a final measurement on the length of service wire I'm going to need. It's more than I originally thought at 210ft needed with a little extra factored in to be sure. I think I might have to switch to aluminum 1/0 to keep this affordable. I'm not familiar with aluminum wire. Is it single wire like THHN or is it in a bundle of four conductors. If you reply with acronyms please spell them out so I can understand thanks!
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 08:35 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Workshop sub panel


I wouldn't concern yourself too much with voltage drop. It's not like you are going to be drawing 100A.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 07-01-2013 at 09:04 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Workshop sub panel


I can almost guarantee that you will be limited to 100A per stab. So, you will not be able to have breakers directly opposite your 2P 100A breaker. That being said, you would only need #3 CU or #1 AL for 100A...#2 CU or 1/0 AL for voltage drop.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (07-01-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 05:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Workshop sub panel


After talking to my electric company I found out they will provide a double tap meter socket so I can avoid hooking to my main panel using a breaker. Now that in not limited by the breaker size I'm going to run 4/0 aluminum for 200 amp service. Do I still need 4 conductors
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:21 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Workshop sub panel


Good plan and a great savings
Handyncheap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:31 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Workshop sub panel


You are opening a big can of worms. Service disconnects need to be grouped. Adding a line from the meter will mean that one disconnect will be in your current panel, and one will be in your workshop...not grouped. Depending on where your main panel is located you will need at least one more disconnect.

Now, here is the area I'm not 100% sure of. You have an existing 200A panel, and are adding a 200A panel, you are most likely going to be required to protect the conductors on the line side of the meter at 200A. If you don't you could be pulling more current than what your wires are rated for.

The way I'm envisioning this going down, you aren't even going to need the 2 lug meter socket.

You are going to need to pull a permit on this, and as such, you should really talk to your inspection department to see if what you want to do is legal.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:50 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Workshop sub panel


K,buz

I live in the county and there are no inspections. The only jurisdiction is the electric company. They put me in touch with the engineer in charge of my particular area and I asked him about the double lug meter socket. He advised me that all I needed to do was remove the old meter socket. Install new double lug meter socket and reconnect service to the hose which is located in the basement directly beneath the meter socket mounted on the outside of my house. I would then need to run the extra lugs to a 200 amp disconnect before going underground to my shop. Is this not Ok.
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:57 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Workshop sub panel


I forgot to add that he said the service wires from the transformer which are buried are 4/0 al and they only have 200 amp meter sockets. So the new double lug meter socket would also only be 200 amps. He specifically said both buildings would be essentially sharing the 200 amps. My question is what happens if in the unlikely event the house and the shop both draw 150 amps for a total of 300. What protects the 4/0 wire between the transformer and meter?
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hartkem For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (07-02-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 10:07 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Workshop sub panel


Your power company may allow this, but it does not meet the National Electrical Code for the reasons KBuz posted above.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:39 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Workshop sub panel


Wouldn't NEC 230.40 exception 2 allow this since my buildings are not attached
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:50 PM   #15
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Workshop sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by hartkem View Post
Wouldn't NEC 230.40 exception 2 allow this since my buildings are not attached
Don't have my 2011 NEC (in truck) but the 2008, 230.40 exception 3 should work. IF I read it correctly.


A single-family dwelling unit and a separate structure shall be permitted to have one set of service entrance conductors run to each from a single service drop or lateral.

That may have changed in the 2011 NEC, so it may depend on which code cycle you area is under

__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.