Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2013, 06:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Working 20 amp gfci tripping on high amp appliances


I am running a vitamix, or a toaster oven, or a kitchen aid mixer on a 20 amp gfci that in replaced twice now, but it keeps tripping. The circuit doesn't trip, just the gfci does. I am never running all of these at the same time, only one at a time, yet just one of these appliances seems to always trip the outlet, and I have to reset it. The outlet is on its own circuit and is only feeding to one other outlet. I have checked the voltage coming from the wiring and everything looks good there. I have had to replace it because after it trips several times, it just stops working altogether. I don't see any moisture behind the wall in that spot. Does anyone have any advice because i feel like I have exhausted my resources trying to figure out the issue.

Spm8d6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:50 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,921
Rewards Points: 2,636
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Working 20 amp gfci tripping on high amp appliances


Defective appliances? Do they work on other GFCI circuits?
Disconnect the other receptacle from the LOAD terminals and see what happens.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:52 AM   #3
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Working 20 amp gfci tripping on high amp appliances


The GFCI was replaced, or the appliances?
The GFCI may be working properly, it may be a ground fault in the appliance.
You should have another GFCI protected circuit in the bathroom (depending on age of home) try using appliance there, see whether it trips or holds.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:01 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Working 20 amp gfci tripping on high amp appliances


Thanks for the responses. The appliances i have tried on other gfci outlets on other circuits in the kitchen and they work properly and I have replaced they gfci that is acting up a few times now so I don't know what it could be. I will try to disconnect the load receptacle later today and see if it is still acting up thanks for that advice. Maybe the load receptacle is bad and I just never really thought about it, I'll let you know if that changes anything. Thanks again.
Spm8d6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electical, gfci, outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS tripping 20A GFCI in basement bensec01 Electrical 17 07-27-2013 03:35 PM
Is this a bad GFCI? Why isn't my smoke detector interconnection working anymore? WillK Electrical 8 03-31-2013 01:26 PM
gfci tripping can't find cause 1honus Electrical 10 01-03-2012 09:01 AM
Garage GFCI keeps tripping faromic Electrical 7 08-30-2011 10:45 PM
50 Amp GFCI tripping casnart Electrical 26 08-17-2011 04:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.