Work Boxes? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 02:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Work boxes?


When attaching a new work box to a stud, how far off of the stud do you put it? I figure you want it flush with the drywall so you should bring it out as far as it would take to set flush with the drywall?

Advertisement

sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 03:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Work boxes?


Correct. They usually come with indicator lines imprinted on the side of the box. One for 1/2" and one for 5/8 drywall I think.

Advertisement

send_it_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 04:28 PM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Work boxes?


Yes, you don't want it to be ''over'' the sheetrock surface thickness - or the cover plate will sit extended (floating).

If you end with with a few boxes ''under'' the surface thickness of the sheetrock, that is ok.
__________________
- Build Well -
AtlanticWBConst. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 04:55 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Work boxes?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticWBConst. View Post
If you end with with a few boxes ''under'' the surface thickness of the sheetrock, that is ok.
Up to 1/4" set back is acceptable with drywall.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 11:22 AM   #5
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Work boxes?


If the plastic ones stick proud, you can always take a sharp saw like the pull saw and trim it back to the drywall...a minute or so will have the face plate sitting nice and flush....DAMHIKT. Metal boxes are another beast. As for installing, I usually have a template for thickness and heights so they are all the same.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 03:33 PM   #6
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Work boxes?


Quote:
Originally Posted by send_it_all View Post
Correct. They usually come with indicator lines imprinted on the side of the box. One for 1/2" and one for 5/8 drywall I think.
If this still doesn't feel right, cut a little piece of the drywall that you will be installing and use that to measure.

Advertisement

ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 09:40 PM
Boxes recessed too deep rondo Electrical 10 12-01-2012 07:46 PM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 07:09 PM
is this bad tiling work? garrick Flooring 17 09-27-2006 01:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts