Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2007, 09:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


How do you place a work box in between 2 studs?

sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 09:29 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


How close are the studs?

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 06:14 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


16" o.c.
sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 06:27 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


I don't get the question.

How about a bit more detail.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 07:40 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


Quote:
Originally Posted by sandyman720 View Post
How do you place a work box in between 2 studs?
Cut it in after the wall covering is up?
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 07:52 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


The question is:

For a new construction home, how do you put in a "new work" receptacle box if you want to place it in between 2 studs.

For example if the middle point between 2 windows falls between 2 studs and you want to put a sconce there.

Thanks

Matt
sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 08:24 AM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


1. Cut in after wall is finished (easiest)
2. Use light box with integral mounting bar
3. Cut 2x4 to fit and mount box to that.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 06:16 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
1. Cut in after wall is finished (easiest)
2. Use light box with integral mounting bar
3. Cut 2x4 to fit and mount box to that.
EXACTLY
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 10:52 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,130
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Work Box in between 2 studs


One other thing is be careful on the box size. Some sconces will not cover a 4 inch round. Some big boxes are now carrying the smaller boxes and specialty boxes to allow for applications like sconces.

Stubbie

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drain Pipes, Walls and Studs mattaparity Plumbing 2 12-18-2011 08:22 AM
nails and staples missed studs in garage dingler44 Building & Construction 1 10-11-2006 12:10 AM
is this bad tiling work? garrick Flooring 17 09-27-2006 01:30 AM
How to line up trusses with studs aero_ub Carpentry 5 04-24-2006 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.