Woods Time Switch 59396 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2011, 01:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

woods time switch 59396


I am trying to replace a timer that no longer works, I believe it is an Intermatic that I currently have, it has just three wires: green, white, and black. I had gotten a Woods 59396/59399 and got a little confused on how to wire it. This is to control some lights.

Advertisement

wk1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 02:30 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

woods time switch 59396


It don't really sound right on the numbers of conductors you will have incomming { line } and outgoing { load } sources so please take a look again.

BTW this is a hevey duty timer it will handle up to 30 amp load

The wiring diagram is bottom of the PDF so you should able hook this one pretty easy just pay attetion to the supply and load side.

http://www.smarthome.com/manuals/56028.pdf

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:52 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

woods time switch 59396


i did double check and i do only have the three wires currently
wk1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:46 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

woods time switch 59396


Where did the three conductors goes ?? to the load centre or junction box for the lumianires ?? that will give you some clues on the set up.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

woods time switch 59396


I am not really sure where the wires all go, one is black, one white and one green, the wires are all enclosed in conduit till the timer. the breaker box is probably 60 feet away atleast, and the lights are on different floors
wk1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
59396 , wood time switch


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 09:39 AM
Electric Time Switch David Cosner Electrical 2 03-30-2011 12:15 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 03:44 PM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 01:09 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts