Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 02:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Wood shop 100 amp sub panel


DIY members, just wanting to run this by you guys on my plans to upgrade the panel in my wood shop. The situation is my main panel is attached to a pedestal along side my meter. ( I live in a mobile home ) Right now the wood shop (a detached building) is fed with a double pole 40 amp breaker [ #8 AWG NM-B copper inside 1 1/4" conduit, [ I know its not code, but we're gonna change that ] about 50' in length] I installed coming from the 200 amp service that also powers my mobile home. The panel in my mobile home is a 100 amps. My plan is to install another 100 amp sub panel [ powered with #2 AWG THHN copper with neutral and equipment ground, from lugs at the base of the buss bars in the 200 amp main panel ] to replace the existing small panel in the wood shop I am using now. What I want to do is use the same small panel and move it to the other end of the shop using the same 40 amp breaker with the #8 feeder that exist now and be ready for the future shop expansion I'm planning for the spring. It will be used for a lighting circuits and dedicated GFI protected wall and exterior recepticles. One of the questions I have, will I have to install two more grounding rods where the second sub panel is going ? Also, I want to use some EMT conduit ( 1/2" w/ 4 #12 THHN wires ) to surface mount a couple of 220v receptacles. The interior walls of my shop are sheathed with 1/2" CDX. What is the proper way to exit the wall bay ? [LB inside wall bay, short length of EMT to another LB on the outside ? ] I know this is a long winded request, but I wanted to try and get all the info you guys might need to help me out ! Thanks
tinybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 02:42 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Wood shop 100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by tinybear View Post
DIY members, just wanting to run this by you guys on my plans to upgrade the panel in my wood shop. The situation is my main panel is attached to a pedestal along side my meter. ( I live in a mobile home ) Right now the wood shop (a detached building) is fed with a double pole 40 amp breaker [ #8 AWG NM-B copper inside 1 1/4" conduit, [ I know its not code, but we're gonna change that ] about 50' in length] I installed coming from the 200 amp service that also powers my mobile home. The panel in my mobile home is a 100 amps. My plan is to install another 100 amp sub panel [ powered with #2 AWG THHN copper with neutral and equipment ground, from lugs at the base of the buss bars in the 200 amp main panel ] to replace the existing small panel in the wood shop I am using now. What I want to do is use the same small panel and move it to the other end of the shop using the same 40 amp breaker with the #8 feeder that exist now and be ready for the future shop expansion I'm planning for the spring. It will be used for a lighting circuits and dedicated GFI protected wall and exterior recepticles. One of the questions I have, will I have to install two more grounding rods where the second sub panel is going ? Also, I want to use some EMT conduit ( 1/2" w/ 4 #12 THHN wires ) to surface mount a couple of 220v receptacles. The interior walls of my shop are sheathed with 1/2" CDX. What is the proper way to exit the wall bay ? [LB inside wall bay, short length of EMT to another LB on the outside ? ] I know this is a long winded request, but I wanted to try and get all the info you guys might need to help me out ! Thanks
You can't go off the lugs with #2 wire. You will have to use the proper sized breaker in the panel to go to your shop.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 434
Default

Wood shop 100 amp sub panel


useing feed through lugs,you have to size your wire to the required size for the 200 amp main breaker.3/0 copper or 250 aluminum.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oleguy74 For This Useful Post:
tinybear (02-08-2013)
Old 02-08-2013, 06:45 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Wood shop 100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
useing feed through lugs,you have to size your wire to the required size for the 200 amp main breaker.3/0 copper or 250 aluminum.
Why 250 al
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Wood shop 100 amp sub panel


In my original post I failed to state the proper size feeder to my sub panel. Actually it's 2/0 AWG THHN, and now I realize its still too small. I'll use a 100 amp breaker at the main to feed the sub, also with a 100 amp main breaker. Thanks oleguy74. Would sure like to meet rrolleston with his special discount and that "cocky attitude" of his ! Sounds like he needs a little tune-up. People from Grandville, what do you expect ?
tinybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 07:03 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Wood shop 100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by tinybear View Post
In my original post I failed to state the proper size feeder to my sub panel. Actually it's 2/0 AWG THHN, and now I realize its still too small. I'll use a 100 amp breaker at the main to feed the sub, also with a 100 amp main breaker. Thanks oleguy74. Would sure like to meet rrolleston with his special discount and that "cocky attitude" of his ! Sounds like he needs a little tune-up. People from Grandville, what do you expect ?
3 2/0 and one #6 ground in a 1-1/4 is way too much.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:31 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Wood shop 100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
useing feed through lugs,you have to size your wire to the required size for the 200 amp main breaker.3/0 copper or 250 aluminum.
Not exactly this only applies if your feeding a main lug panel from those lugs and both panels are indoors..

Since his service equipment is located outdoors on a pedestal he is allowed to use his feed thru lugs to feed a 'main breaker' panel so long as that main breaker is sized properly to protect the conductors of his feeder. Lookup unlimited tap rule in the NEC. It's not a lot different than what is going on from his service equipment to the main breaker panel in his house. I belive you can also use the summation rule for the sub if a main breaker does not exist.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FPE Panel change out. Main Breaber to Lug TJ14u Electrical 4 01-22-2013 10:54 PM
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM
Sub-panel selewis Electrical 23 02-21-2010 10:52 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
sub panel in house from shop rustic Electrical 1 01-25-2009 11:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.