Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2008, 06:57 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Won't fit.


I want to figure out if I am just not doing a good enough job at trimming wires tight and such or if this is too many wires for a box

3 gang box:
2 X 14-3
4 X 14-2

Wiring switch with ground, 1-2way, 1-3way, 1-4way.

So I have a total of 6 pieces of romex coming into the box. Would you figure out how to make this all fix or would you add a junction box? I think I was going to be ok, until I have to add the ground wire for the switch, and it is a metal box, so I have to bond to the box as well, and there just isn't really room for it all.

Jamie


Last edited by jamiedolan; 10-26-2008 at 07:01 PM. Reason: Posted before done.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.


Metal box? What are you thinking Plastic is non conductive and deeper.

Ground the box with one of the bare wires in a cable. If you do it stealthy it wont add any volume. Don't add and extra pigtail just to gnd the box. Switches don't need pigtails in metal boxes.

Plenty of room. It's all about the make up.

Run all of the cables into the top.

Run the 3wire cables into the openings above where the respective switches will be.

Untwist and sort your wires to eliminate crossover where they enter the box.

Pull everything up and out of the way and make up grounds first leaving just enough for them to fold back once and tuck them way back.

Same thing with neutrals. Wire comes in, folds to the right (if you're a righty) and wirenut almost touches the right side of the box. Tuck them back.

If you leave too much wire with s curves, you take up twice the space.

If you have cables coming in top and bottom, you take up more space.

Think aerodynamically.


Last edited by 220/221; 10-26-2008 at 07:52 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:53 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Won't fit.


How deep is this metal box? I bet 2-1/2" or less, right?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.


Here I have 6 cables (one 3wire) in a two gang plastic box with plenty of room for dimmers.



Also, if you have a 3way and a 4way, don't you need another 3 wire in the mix?

Last edited by 220/221; 10-26-2008 at 08:02 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:16 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Won't fit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Also, if you have a 3way and a 4way, don't you need another 3 wire in the mix?
In the same box??
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:19 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Won't fit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Here I have 6 cables (one 3wire) in a two gang plastic box with plenty of room for dimmers.



Also, if you have a 3way and a 4way, don't you need another 3 wire in the mix?
Looks like the trim plate is going to hit the door trim. Two cables in a clamp wouldn't fly here and I don't think the sheath method to secure the wires would either.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:19 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.


No.........in a plastic box


Or a masonry box ???

Maybe it's one of those 5 gang boxes with a 3 gang mud ring???
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:26 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Won't fit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Two cables in a clamp wouldn't fly here and I don't think the sheath method to secure the wires would either.
You must live in "Not in my town" USA.

What are the code references for those violations?
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:28 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.


Quote:
Looks like the trim plate is going to hit the door trim.
Pocket door. Plenty of room





Quote:
Two cables in a clamp wouldn't fly here and I don't think the sheath method to secure the wires would either.
I never understood that one wire per hole thing. The wires can't go anywhere. (no clamps in these boxes BTW) Are there Leprecahns that get in and start tugging at the cables?

I guess the drywall screws mounting the box may be an issue also

The sheath secures the cables and keeps them in the chase. It's safe and secure IMO. It may not be as as pretty as it could be....until the drywall goes up.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:36 PM   #10
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by EBFD6 View Post
You must live in "Not in my town" USA.

What are the code references for those violations?
Where's the UL listing on the sheath that says it is suitable for use as a means to secure other cables?

(And BTW, I ain't knockin ya, 220, looks secure enough. But there is a support made for that. Or even a 2x4 nailed in place...)
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:46 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.


While I'm at it, here is some more of my house.

I completely rehabbed this thing.









No...I'm not gay. My ex is a designer, hence the groovy colors.




1x6 pine feature wall and custom entry doors. (Blank plate above door gives access to camera/security wiring)








I had to replace ALL of my cast iron sewer pipe, slab construction, inside and out. Nice surprise.







I crawled my ass down in this hole to stub into an existing tiled shower anout 2' back.




After all that, two cables in one hole was a non issue for me.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:52 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.


Quote:
I ain't knockin ya, 220, looks secure enough. But there is a support made for that. Or even a 2x4 nailed in place

Is the 2x4 listed??

I've been recycling sheath since 1974

Somebody somewhere will always say something is wrong with everything. I just use my best judgement.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 10:30 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Won't fit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Here I have 6 cables (one 3wire) in a two gang plastic box with plenty of room for dimmers.



Also, if you have a 3way and a 4way, don't you need another 3 wire in the mix?
That's a lot of wires. Assuming you have all 14 AWG wires in there, your required box volume is a minimum box having at least 38 cu. in. Most of the Carlon 2-gangs have 32 or 35, but maybe yours is bigger.

Now, for Jamie's concern.
Jamie should have a box volume of at least 44 cu. in.

If a gangable box type like this is used, a 2-1/2" deep won't cut it at approx 37.5 cu in. A 2-3/4" deep is close, at approx 42 cu in. The next size is usually 3-1/2" deep, offering approx 54 cu in, but the screws for the cable clamps usually hit the opposite wall.

If this style is used, I would use the 2-3/4".



Now, if this style is used, a 2-1/8" deep box will give 44.3 cu. in., but might be a little tight putting a dimmer or deep switch in there.



willis
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 10:55 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Won't fit.




The 1960's called. They want their boxes back

Quote:
That's a lot of wires. Assuming you have all 14 AWG wires in there, your required box volume is a minimum box having at least 38 cu. in. Most of the Carlon 2-gangs have 32 or 35, but maybe yours is bigger.
I don't know the volume or number of wires allowed. It's printed on the box but I never look. There is a crapload of room left in that box.



Why anyone would use a steel box with romex is beyond my understanding. Plastic has more volume, is non conductive, inexpensive, and doesn't require connectors.

It's also a pretty blue color.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 02:42 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Won't fit.


Whats wrong with metal boxes. Thats why they designed a triple tap tool. Can't do that with plastic or can you?

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.