Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2008, 05:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

wirring garage


im thinking on running 4 flouresent lights togetther on one circuit with 14/2. Im thinking on running 6 recepticales on two different circuits with 14/2. Should i go with 12/2 or am i fine?

lineman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

wirring garage


Do you mean running 6 receptacles on each circuit or 3 on each. 14/2 would be fine as long as your running off a 15amp circuit. I would run more than 3 receptacles off of 1 circuit if that is what you meant. 6 would still be safe. You might want to think about running some 20amp receptacles if you are going to be using many power tools and such. Are you going to put in any 220v outlets for welders, compressor and such?

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default

wirring garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeVila View Post
Do you mean running 6 receptacles on each circuit or 3 on each. 14/2 would be fine as long as your running off a 15amp circuit. I would run more than 3 receptacles off of 1 circuit if that is what you meant. 6 would still be safe. You might want to think about running some 20amp receptacles if you are going to be using many power tools and such. Are you going to put in any 220v outlets for welders, compressor and such?
i was thinking of 3 recepticles on one circuit. dont need alot just isolating half of the garage. half the garage(3 receps) on one cicuit. The other half (3 receps)on another. then the garage lights on their own (4 flouresents)
lineman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 07:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

wirring garage


Yeah while I was already doing it though I would go ahead and put a few extras in or at least 1 double gang receptacle box on each side. Good luck and be safe.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 07:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default

wirring garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeVila View Post
Yeah while I was already doing it though I would go ahead and put a few extras in or at least 1 double gang receptacle box on each side. Good luck and be safe.
thank you .ill do that
lineman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM
Crazy Garage Extension, Building over blacktop?!?! commissure General DIY Discussions 4 09-13-2007 11:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.