Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2012, 12:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


I've been trying to decide between line voltage Xenon under cabinet lighting or low voltage Led strip lighting. I am planning to pull a separate 14-2 romex to the upper cabinet above the range. The over the range microwave will be on a separate circuit. If I went with Led lighting I would have to mount a LED driver (power supply) in the over the range cabinet and from there run 12 volts wiring to the LED strips.

The Xenon lighting would be cheaper and probably better dimming performance than LED lighting plus I don't loose cabinet space to mount the power supply.

Also, all the cabinets will be on a concrete block wall that has furring strips and 1/2" drywall and it's a 2 story house so there's no access there once the ceiling goes up.

So is it ok to run a lamp cord wire inside and underneath the cabinets for the line voltage xenon lights?

thanks!

fredm54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 12:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


No! It's not.

Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 01:29 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,933
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evstarr View Post
No! It's not.
Why not, it is in/under the cabinet and is accessible. That is the way those lights are intended to be wired.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 01:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 38
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Just to clarify some more, the wire will not be in the wall, it will either be underneath the cabinets or inside some cabinets so I can get to the other side of the range.

thanks!
fredm54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 01:50 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


How would you ground the fixture using zip cord?
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 38
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Good question but I bought a set of 3 Xenon puck lights at home depot to test and each puck has a 4' lamp cord with a 2 prong plug at the end!
fredm54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:51 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,674
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Don't install puck lights... they are horrible... got with something like these if you want a quality UC fixture...
http://www.nslusa.com/xenontask.html


Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-15-2012 at 06:11 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 04:28 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,933
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evstarr View Post
How would you ground the fixture using zip cord?
Those fixtures that come with a 2 wire cord do not have to be grounded. Fixtures that are hard wired need to be grounded.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 04:29 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,674
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Those fixtures that come with a 2 wire cord do not have to be grounded. Fixtures that are hard wired need to be grounded.
they are no different than a two wire table lamp...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

they are no different than a two wire table lamp...
You and rjniles are, of course, absolutely correct! In my defense, I simply did not assume prewired puck lights when I thought about installing under cabinet lights.

I will drink more coffee and not answer from the car on my phone in the mornings any more!
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:10 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


I am going to say that this would not pass inspection. It seems as if you will be using a flexible cord as permanent wiring which is not legal.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:12 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,674
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I am going to say that this would not pass inspection. It seems as if you will be using a flexible cord as permanent wiring which is not legal.
No way, these are UL listed lights... Not NEC enforceable....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:17 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


I was talking about the wiring TO the puck lights, not the leads off the puck lights.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:19 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,674
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I was talking about the wiring TO the puck lights, not the leads off the puck lights.

I must have mis read something, because I thought his intentions were to bring a 14-2 to a cabinet? Im assuming after that fact he was just going to install a duplex and plug the puck lights in?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 11:18 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 38
Default

Wiring for under cabinet lighting


Yes, I was going to run a 14-2 romex into one cabinet but then run zip cord underneath and inside to get to the bottom of the 3 adjacent cabinets.
I'm going to look further into something like what Stickboy suggested.

I could use one or more of the small appliance outlet boxes to use as a junction point for the 14-2 UC lights but those boxes will be crowded.

I uploaded a quick (not to scale) drawing of what will become my kitchen!
The Red and Green symbols are the Small Appliance (SA) outlets. Right now the only outlet box is the green one next to the sink. This is the original builder installed (1983) It has a 12-3 romex for the SA and the dishwasher and disposal (black wire = SA, Red wire for DW and Disposal) This box is staying as is. Its a 4x4 plastic box that's about 2.5" deep. (concrete block wall has a hole knocked in it to allow for the deep box)

I was going to use Raco 185 boxes and surface mount them to the concrete wall which with the furring strip and dryway the box would be flush. These boxes are only 18 cu in but if I have to I'll have to knock 3 more holes so I can go with deeper boxes. This would allow me to run a 14-2 in and out so i can get all the xenons on one circuit. I really don't want to run a seperate 14-2 from the breaker panel to each xenon and use the breaker panel and tie those 4 14-2's to one breaker.

Maybe the simple thing to do is go with low voltage wiring (zip) for LED lighting. If I do that I could run one 14-2 into the microwave outlet box, mount a power supply and run zip cord everywhere (but not behind drywall)

thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring for under cabinet lighting-kitchen-outlets.jpg  

fredm54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elaborate Plan for wiring my theater lighting danielrg Electrical 21 04-05-2013 05:26 PM
Installing under cabinet lighting trim? kcrossley2 Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 5 11-13-2012 08:38 PM
under cabinet lighting Skunk Electrical 8 10-30-2009 08:29 PM
Before I close walls: hard wiring under cabinet lighting with Romex. jws3 Electrical 6 08-29-2009 12:24 PM
LED Under Cabinet Lighting Kstrats Electrical 2 07-28-2009 12:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.