Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2011, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Wiring two switched outlets.


I would like to wire two plugs in one outlet to two differents switches. I was planning on using a 14/3 to connect the two plugs to the two switches, red being hot for one and the black being hot for the other plug with the bar connecting the two plugs snapped . I would pigtail the hots to the switches and the commons for the plugs. Does that sound ok for code? Thanks for your help.
drken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Wiring two switched outlets.


Will work perfectly as you described.

Do not break off the bar on the common (silver; larger prong hole) side of the receptacle unit and then just one white wire needs to be attached on that side.

Where does the feed cable from the panel go to?
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-01-2011 at 02:35 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 03:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring two switched outlets.


The feed runs to another outlet before coming to these switches. Not much on the circuit. A GFCI will connect after the switches so the new outlet will not be on the GFCI protection. Thanks for your reply
drken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 08:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Wiring two switched outlets.


No pigtails (short lengths) would be needed down at the new outlet box because each of the three wire ends would be screwed directly onto the receptacle unit.

You will need just a few pigtails at the switches so each switch will have its own wire end for the raw (unswitched) power.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring my basement. Power from outlets to lights? nateshirk Electrical 3 05-11-2011 09:36 PM
Basic wiring outlets and switches ravageiwise Electrical 5 05-04-2011 02:58 AM
series of 1/2 switched outlets chiefsfantrish Electrical 20 08-16-2010 12:08 PM
Wiring new detached garage/studio WShawn Electrical 4 07-21-2008 06:13 PM
Question about wiring outlets together firemanpato Electrical 5 01-05-2008 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.