Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2010, 12:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring two pole breaker


I wire the black and white wire to breaker, right??...Does it matter where the black goes?
Attached Thumbnails
wiring two pole breaker-aaa.jpg  

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:16 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

wiring two pole breaker


As long as this is a straight 240 volt circuit the black and a re-identified white attach to the breaker. It does not matter which screw is used.

A 120/240 circuit like for a stove or dryer would need a 3 wire + ground feed. In this case the black and red go to the breaker.

To re-identify the white as a hot conductor, use any color besides green or gray. It must be marked wherever it is visible in junction boxes.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
As long as this is a straight 240 volt circuit the black and a re-identified white attach to the breaker. It does not matter which screw is used.

A 120/240 circuit like for a stove or dryer would need a 3 wire + ground feed. In this case the black and red go to the breaker.

To re-identify the white as a hot conductor, use any color besides green or gray. It must be marked wherever it is visible in junction boxes.
So I can't use a the white wire? Can I use another piece of black wire?
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:38 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

wiring two pole breaker


You can use it, it just needs to be re-identified as a hot conductor.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You can use it, it just needs to be re-identified as a hot conductor.

Thanks for your help...... can you explain...I can mark the white wire w/ tape, marker or something to re-identify?

Also, does the white wire go to the neutral screw on recepticle, or the hot screw (brass)??

Last edited by ugabulldog; 05-23-2010 at 03:35 PM.
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 07:33 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
Thanks for your help...... can you explain...I can mark the white wire w/ tape, marker or something to re-identify?

Also, does the white wire go to the neutral screw on recepticle, or the hot screw (brass)??
Bull dog you may need to tell us what your powering. Is the load strictly 240 volts or does it require 240 volts and 120 volts.

Your showing a 20 amp double pole common trip breaker so I am assuming your using 12 awg wire and likely from your questions it is 12/2 with Grd which lends to a 240 volt only load. If that is the case the correct 240 volt receptacle will not have a terminal for a neutral just two brass screws for the two hots and a green screw for the equipment ground.

Can you give a few more details?

The connection to the breaker if 12/2 g and 240 volts only will look like this and the bare ground terminates on the neutral or grounding bar.
Attached Thumbnails
wiring two pole breaker-double-pole-breaker.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 05-23-2010 at 07:39 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 07:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wiring two pole breaker


please before you fire it up
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 07:52 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring two pole breaker


It will be for a submersable well pump....thanks for the help
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:31 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wiring two pole breaker


needs to be right type of wire for underground and well
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
needs to be right type of wire for underground and well
This is going to be on my temporary power pole, we need to use well while building.....I need to wire up a receptacle for it to plug into......I will address wire from pump to bladder tank to power pole once I get to that point, I hope I am making sense...
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:11 PM   #11
Totally screwed together
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cypress, SoCal
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring two pole breaker


I'm a little nervous about using a hot white wire in a circumstance other than a light switch.

Why not just use red wire with the black to indicate two hots?
xxPaulCPxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:27 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
I'm a little nervous about using a hot white wire in a circumstance other than a light switch.

Why not just use red wire with the black to indicate two hots?
So you have a problem remarking a white - accepted by code

But have no problem telling someone to strip the case off Romex (code violation) & use it in a wet location ??
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:50 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
I'm a little nervous about using a hot white wire in a circumstance other than a light switch.

Why not just use red wire with the black to indicate two hots?
If this is for a straight 240 volt load running xx-3 would be a waste of money and resources. xx-2 is fine for straight 240 loads. You just need to re-identify the white as a hot conductor.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 03:08 AM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
I'm a little nervous about using a hot white wire in a circumstance other than a light switch.

Why not just use red wire with the black to indicate two hots?
Naw if straght 240 volt load you can use the remarked white conductor and it been done like this ., Jezz from Edison days and I done that pretty often not only on single phase supply and I done that with triphase as well like example with 6mmX3 { 10-3 NM or UF } I will remarked the white conductor to bleu or other colours as I needed to. the green or grey is not used.{ those couple colours are very specficed in NEC or CEC } { French code is little diffrent the green is the same as NEC but not Grey it used for phase conductor }

Plus what more it generally cheaper to use XX-2 cables than XX-3 cables if any load not needed netural.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 06:32 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

wiring two pole breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
I'm a little nervous about using a hot white wire in a circumstance other than a light switch.

Why not just use red wire with the black to indicate two hots?
This is a very common worry/misconception by those unfamiliar with the code and/or outside the trade.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a single pole switch with a pilot light gabriel246 Electrical 5 10-31-2009 07:03 PM
Double pole CH breaker ?? James Con Electrical 7 07-10-2008 12:41 AM
Three way light switches and double pole breaker ShawnColes Electrical 6 04-15-2008 09:25 PM
breaker box wiring rick32 Electrical 8 11-29-2007 12:11 PM
2 pole breaker Unregistered Electrical 3 09-11-2004 12:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.