Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2005, 07:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

wiring trouble?


Hello all new to the forum site as I found it searching for answers on the net. Signed up and here I am...having some wire trouble with lights......your help is appreciated. Currently in garage we have 2 or 3 lights running from one swith.....were trying to add a motion sensor light to the existing switch by adding another pole switch....2 way wire with ground current setup as well as new light to switch control....so I need to know how to add another single pole switch to existing single pole switch using same power....(3 way cable) Thank you...sorry for the jumble there lol.

brad25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 09:29 PM   #2
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Default

wiring trouble?


brad, why would you want to add another switch to the motion control? Most motion controls can be controlled by flipping the switch in a particular sequence anyway.

Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 11:47 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

wiring trouble?


If it will work out you have to replace the switch box with a 2-gang box and use the feed to feed both switches.
You have to start by telling us exactly what wires you have in the switch box.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 04:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

wiring trouble?


hello ok, current switch turns on garage lights....standard black white ground cable. Adding another light (motion sensor) outside of the garage therefore need another switch to control these lights separately.....we have two sinlge pole switches, and a 2 gang box...black white ground to one switch, black white ground to the other switch......only the current switch has the power. How do I add the power to the other switch using current power. Black to black, white to white, ground to ground? on each switch?
brad25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:06 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

wiring trouble?


So you are saying the original switch only had a black, white & ground going to it?
If this is so it can't be done without a bit of re-wiring or finding a another feed for the new switch.
What you have is a switch loop and this provides NO neutral. The power is brought down on the white and goes back up on the black. The feed is at the light.
Is there a way to access another feed or the feed at the light?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 06:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

wiring trouble?


so I can't add the power to the existing switch unless I replace the power feed of a 3 way cable to a 4 way....or running the new light straight to the breaker panel? What do you think is easiest without having to rewire current power wiring?

brad25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM
How safe is knob and tube wiring? jackdp Electrical 8 10-29-2005 10:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.