Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2011, 09:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring three receptacles


I have the project of wiring three receptacles on the same circuit. I'm in trade school (community college) and have never done this before so I need some sort of lead. The thing I have to do is wire receptacle #1 to receptacle #2 then receptacle #3 back to #2 then wire It into the circuit breaker. I have no clue on how to go about this. I've posted on ET and got no help but referred here.

Ideal Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 09:23 PM   #2
Member
 
waterman1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring three receptacles


What sort of "trade school" are you enrolled in?

waterman1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 10:50 PM   #3
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring three receptacles


Wire #1 to the posts on #2, then pigtail the remaining posts on #2 into the breaker feed and the line to #3. Wire nut in box #2...

What is causing your confusion......
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring three receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply
Wire #1 to the posts on #2, then pigtail the remaining posts on #2 into the breaker feed and the line to #3. Wire nut in box #2...

What is causing your confusion......
Like this?

Then of course wire it up.
Attached Images
 
Ideal Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:09 PM   #5
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring three receptacles


Yeah, but i think you might need a deep box for that middle one...i forget the capacity of 18 CU In boxes off the top of my head.....Theres a number of wires you can have inside the box......plus a 22 CUin might be easier. But yes, thats how I would do it.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:19 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,118
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

Wiring three receptacles


If your 18 cu in box has no internal clamps (an internal clamp counts as 1 conductor) you are right at the limit for the box. 6 conductors + 1 ground + one device(= 2 conductors):

6 + 1 + 2 = 9 x 2 cu in (for 14 gauge wire) = 18 cu in.

A better plan is to feed the box from one end and not have 3 cables in a box.

If you use you wiring plan I would us e a larger box for the 3 cables.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:45 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring three receptacles


Yeah I'm using all 22.5 in^3 boxes because that's all my teacher has. It has to have all the wires from the other receptacles feed into the middle box then Into the circuit breaker. (his project for different scenarios.)
Ideal Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 10:30 PM   #8
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring three receptacles


Yeah most plastic boxes have the amount of conductors stamped on the back of the box....

You are golden with those 22.5s

__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to get educated about house wiring ChrisJJ Electrical 7 08-08-2010 02:23 PM
Rewiring - adding receptacles, paths to use RST Electrical 2 03-14-2010 02:29 PM
Charred / melted wall receptacle, AL wiring in house creamaster Electrical 17 12-04-2009 04:47 PM
Wiring Receptacles Bocolo Electrical 17 03-02-2009 05:01 PM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.