Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2011, 10:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


I have a double pole 30 amp breaker in breaker panel for old electric hot water heater. Bought a tankless water heater that calls for 60 amp breaker with # 6 awg. Do I need to put two pole 60 amp breaker and new wire to install or will what I have work from old tank water heater.

Jarrod3154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 12:52 AM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


DO not install a 60a breaker onto 30a wire! It's dangerous. Wire must be sized by the protecting breaker rating.

So if you need 60a you need a 2 pole 60 amp breaker and at least #6cu wire, larger if voltage drop is to great.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Saturday Cowboy For This Useful Post:
Jarrod3154 (02-24-2011)
Old 02-24-2011, 12:54 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrod3154 View Post
I have a double pole 30 amp breaker in breaker panel for old electric hot water heater. Bought a tankless water heater that calls for 60 amp breaker with # 6 awg. Do I need to put two pole 60 amp breaker and new wire to install or will what I have work from old tank water heater.
What model number of this tankless waterheater and I know pretty good percentage of larger tankless electrique waterheater do use a bit of power typically they will have two or three 60 amp circuits .,, please note this I say circuits so it will have that many circuit { Canadian unit are wire little diffrent but I will leave it out for now unless you are from that area then I will fill you in }

Second thing DO not use the old 10 gauge wire from tank type water heater to the tankless it is too light for this useage.

You will need to get #6 awg cables { typically 6-2 NM } plus a local disconnect switch if not in sight of breaker box.

Oh yeah just watch out some larger tankless electrique water heaters are hard on service.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Jarrod3154 (02-24-2011)
Old 02-24-2011, 07:09 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


This tankless water heater is a super supreme "Nitro" I220. Says two heating elements (14kw) and requires one 60 amp circuit with #6 AWG. I really appreciate the help.

Thank You,

Jarrod
Jarrod3154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 04:15 PM   #5
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


Do you have enough ampacity in the panel you are feeding it from?

What is the size of the breaker feeding that panel? And the size of the wire?

Also if it is truly 14 KW you can't use 6-2 romex because it is only good for 55 amps and 14 KW @ 240 volts is 58.33 amps. If this is the case you need conduit and wire not romex!

Also if you have an older ITE or Zinsco panel or a few others you are probably going to burn it up where the breaker plugs onto the busbar. Especially the old ITE and their new stuff (Siemens) doesn't fare well either!

Personally I recommend against installing these tankless water heaters! I know there are many that will disagree with me but I have seen too many burnt up panels because of them. Not to mention dissatisfied people who aren't happy with the consistency of the hot water.

If you do the math they don't save you any money, just space!

If you still feel the need for a tankless water heater I suggest you invest in the best you can get and maybe even look into the gas fired versions. Ask the French Electrician for a good brand, the Europeans have been using them for a long time.

Good luck!
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sparks1up For This Useful Post:
Jarrod3154 (02-24-2011)
Old 02-24-2011, 04:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


It is a double pole 30 amp breaker currently with 8 awg. Thank you for the input.
Jarrod3154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 04:40 PM   #7
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


A double pole 30-amp with #8 feeding the whole panel?

This will not work at all! You cannot feed a 60-amp water heater out of a panel that is fed with 30 amps!
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 04:42 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


no sorry 200 amps coming into panel double pole 30 amp going out to old tank hot water heater
Jarrod3154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 12:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Wiring tankless hot water heater


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrod3154 View Post
This tankless water heater is a super supreme "Nitro" I220. Says two heating elements (14kw) and requires one 60 amp circuit with #6 AWG. I really appreciate the help.

Thank You,

Jarrod
That means a new breaker and new wire. Simple as that.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tankless water heater to pre-heat incoming water matthet Plumbing 28 12-20-2011 08:11 AM
Tankless Water Heater welshie Plumbing 12 03-03-2010 12:46 PM
Tankless Water Heater Problem Thalweg Plumbing 4 12-10-2009 12:18 PM
Tankless water heater - NEED HELP! LakersFreak Plumbing 39 11-16-2008 08:49 AM
Tankless water heater questions shadango Plumbing 8 11-12-2008 07:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.