Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


I am wiring a switched light over a bathtub on a new circuit with a GFCI "blank face" receptacle. What is the best way to wire the circuit?

Panel (Power) to GFCI line; GFCI load to switch line; Switch load to light

OR

Panel (Power) to switch line; switch load to GFCI line; GFCI load to light

Thanks
Glenn
nhparrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:53 AM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by nhparrot View Post
I am wiring a switched light over a bathtub on a new circuit with a GFCI "blank face" receptacle. What is the best way to wire the circuit?

Panel (Power) to GFCI line; GFCI load to switch line; Switch load to light

OR

Panel (Power) to switch line; switch load to GFCI line; GFCI load to light

Thanks
Glenn
FYI, the light doesn't require GFCI protection per code... And I like to hit the GFCI device first, this way if a dimmer is installed, it will not affect the GFCI device.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 09-01-2012 at 11:56 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:53 AM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,671
Unhappy

Wiring switched light with GFCI


Any reason uou are using a dead front GFCI-they are expensive? I would install a 2 gang box at the switch location and install the switch and a GFCI receptacle.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:54 AM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Any reason uou are using a dead front GFCI-they are expensive? I would install a 2 gang box at the switch location and install the switch and a GFCI receptacle.
I think they are 7 bucks more than a GFCI receptacle, no? Also, when I do use a receptacle or faceless GFCI for the above application, I like to drop them low so you don't have to really look at them...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 09-01-2012 at 12:02 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:02 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
FYI, the light doesn't require GFCI protection per code... And I like to hit the GFCI device first, this way if a dimmer is installed, it will not affect the GFCI device.
I realize this, but makes the other half more comfortable as another bathroom in the house does have a GFCI in the circuit for a light over a shower. Not a big deal to add, have walls open.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Any reason uou are using a dead front GFCI-they are expensive? I would install a 2 gang box at the switch location and install the switch and a GFCI receptacle.
Had a couple in my cache from previous work I have done and the bathroom already has enough receptacles.
nhparrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:04 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


Tell the other half it's a secondary protection only, the EGC will trump any GFCI device any day of the week, so the odds of it ever being used are pretty slim.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Tell the other half it's a secondary protection only, the EGC will trump any GFCI device any day of the week, so the odds of it ever being used are pretty slim.
Thanks stickboy. I think I will still include it in the circuit.

I was thinking of wiring it as you recommended (there is no dimmer in the circuit). If I do wire it that way, should the neutral to the light come back and be tied into the GFCI load side or is it fine to be on the switch,

Thanks again,
nhparrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:30 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


No matter how you do it, the GFCI requires line in, line out.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:35 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring switched light with GFCI


stickboy, Got it

An existing circuit in another bathroom is wired as Panel (Power) to switch line, switch load to GFCI line, GFCI load to light; so I may just duplicate that wiring. (The existing bathroom was wired by a licensed electrician 10 years ago when we remodeled that section of the house)

Thanks for the help.
nhparrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI as part of light circuit? iceracer Electrical 5 07-05-2011 08:05 PM
GFCI Breaker Trips when any light is turned on rexnance Electrical 3 06-03-2011 09:55 AM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 02:17 AM
Flourescent light using GFCI outlet Willing2learn Electrical 5 09-12-2010 07:27 PM
light wiring debd Electrical 0 02-24-2010 05:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.