Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 10:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring a switch to rope lights


I am interested in any advice or suggestions to wire a switch to rope lights.

I would like to add lighting to the top of my kitchen cabinets. We have about 12" open space between top of cabinets and ceiling. I figured an 18' length of rope lighting would be easy and cheap to add. I could run the power cord down through the inside of the cabinet near the refrigerator and use the outlet behind the fridge as the power source.

I would like to add a switch to give us the ability to turn the lights ON/OFF as desired. I could position the switch underneath the cabinet by the refrigerator where it is out of sight yet easy to access.

I have rope lighting similar to what is used for xmas decoration. The input specs are 120V, 60 hZ, 0.45A and 54W.

Could I simply cut the power cord and wire a switch that could be mounted under the cabinets? If so, do I wire the switch on the hot wire or neutral wire?

I appreciate any advice, suggestions or comments.

Take Care,

DK75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 10:21 PM   #2
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring a switch to rope lights


You could wire in a turn dial switch (thumb switch) into the cord, but it CANNOT be mounted. Rope lighting is usually UL listed as temporary lighting. You ALWAYS ALWAYS wire switches to the HOT side for residences.

If you asked me this is what I would tell you to do:


Run a line up to the cabinet for a receptacle (would an electrician verify the clearances needed for this or maximum height of a receptacle in cabinetry please?). Youre going to have to expand a box or wire in another. Change an existing receptacle into a two-gang box where you put a switch in. Thats the safest way to do it. Do it right the first time. Make it neat the first time.

LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 10:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a switch to rope lights


Mine are plugged into an outlet & the outlet is switched on/off
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 12:15 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a switch to rope lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply View Post
You could wire in a turn dial switch (thumb switch) into the cord, but it CANNOT be mounted. Rope lighting is usually UL listed as temporary lighting. You ALWAYS ALWAYS wire switches to the HOT side for residences.

If you asked me this is what I would tell you to do:


Run a line up to the cabinet for a receptacle (would an electrician verify the clearances needed for this or maximum height of a receptacle in cabinetry please?). Youre going to have to expand a box or wire in another. Change an existing receptacle into a two-gang box where you put a switch in. Thats the safest way to do it. Do it right the first time. Make it neat the first time.


L.E.S. .,

The code realted to the cabent is muted on heightwise but a gotcha is you can not cut the cord of rope luminarie at all otherwise you will void the UL however I think there is a approved rope lighting assesory that have a switch on it but not sure if still in market or not.

Otherwise with OP's situation what he can do is open up the recpetale behind the fridge and bring it up to the receptale box above the cabent and run second conductor down to other switch box and run in switch loop format.
That is one option or other option is hookup from lighting circuit not the counter top { SABC } circuit and have a receptale above cabent and drop down XX-2 NM to switch box that way The op have switched receptale there.

However let me give you a stern warning with switched receptales do not use the dimmer on switched receptale unless you have specail receptales to match it { I know Lurton do make them I think at least one more dimmer switch manufacter do make it as well }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:01 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Wiring a switch to rope lights


Use this. Can't post the pic, just the link.

http://www.doitbest.com/main.aspx?pageid=64&sku=557846
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a switch to rope lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Use this. Can't post the pic, just the link.

http://www.doitbest.com/main.aspx?pageid=64&sku=557846
I actually have one of those too
My outlet was installed when the house was built & is actually located IN the kitchen cabinet up high

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double switch wiring rockclimber Electrical 18 03-18-2012 10:13 PM
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 02:17 AM
HowTo: Adding two exterior lights + switch, piggyback new switch off existing switch? ghost Electrical 14 04-19-2009 05:04 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 08:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.