Wiring A Switch, Power From Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2007, 03:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring a switch, power from outlet


Hello,

I'm confused over some wiring, and I hope you can help.

I'm trying to reinstall a switch that powers an inside outlet, but it is feed from the same outlet it's powering. This outlet is feed from a GFCI outlet in another room.
I have three wires at the switch, Red, Black, and White.

There is another switch (a timer) in this double box for outside lights that I just installed. I ran feed and load (12/2) wires to this timer, off of a dedicated GFCI breaker.
Both GFCI breakers trip, if I hook up the white wire from the outlet to the neutrals of the new circuit. If I leave that white wire off, then the outside lights work fine.

I looked at the outlet that feeds the switch, and there are two white wires on the neutral of the outlet, and the Red one is on the other side of the outlet.

My question is which wires hook to the switch?
Can the black, from the outlet to the switch, be put in with the neutrals of the new circuit? There's only two screws on the switch, and I'm pretty sure the red has to go to one, so it's the black and white I'm confused about.

Thanks for any help,

Bill

Advertisement

Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 04:38 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,337
Rewards Points: 3,468
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wiring a switch, power from outlet


The wires(all of them except the ground) must be kept separate from the exisiting circuit. Do not connect any of them to the white from the new circuit. Connect the black and red to the existing switch. Unless you have more cables you haven't mentioned then the white wire gets capped off and not used.

All the ground must be connected together.

Advertisement


Last edited by joed; 09-15-2007 at 04:41 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 04:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring a switch, power from outlet


Hi joed,

I agree that they shouldn't be in the new circuit. That's why I wanted to run a new feed, to keep this new circuit dedicated.

But which wires get connected to the switch? At the outlet, all the black wires are wire nutted togeather. At the switch, the black and white wires light a test lamp (hot all the time).
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 04:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring a switch, power from outlet


I didn't see your edit. I'll try that.
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 04:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring a switch, power from outlet


Hi joed,

That seems to have worked! Thank you very much!

Before.... that switch feed the other light (outside porch lamp). I added to other lamps, and wanted it to be a dedicated, GFCI protected circuit.
I guess the white was used as the neutral in the original circuit?? That's what threw me off.

Thanks again,

Bill
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Switch Wiring williamp Electrical 11 06-14-2007 08:40 PM
Wiring an outlet in the garden wackerjr Electrical 8 05-28-2006 09:18 AM
Outlet controlled by switch Shardi Electrical 4 10-09-2005 07:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts