Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 01:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

wiring switch to outlet


ok i want to put and outside outlet on my enclosed deck. i want to run a switch to it so i can just flip switch and outlet works. this will be helpful as i have a coup with ginny hens in it and when its cold i want to turn the heat lamps on. i can leave extension cord plugged in and then just flip switch to turn on/off.

so is this right?

source (12/2) to switch
12/2 from switch to outlet

is it just that simple??

thanks for looking

Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:16 PM   #2
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Default

wiring switch to outlet


Yup thats it

eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to eastcoastsparky For This Useful Post:
Kansas (03-03-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 01:37 PM   #3
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

wiring switch to outlet


You got it. Make sure you wire the switch with the black (hot wires), and pigtail the neutrals together.
Also make sure at the outlet you wire the black to brass screws and white to silver screws.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
Kansas (03-03-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 02:18 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

wiring switch to outlet


Thanks everyone!
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:15 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

wiring switch to outlet


An use a GFCI receptacle.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:57 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

wiring switch to outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
An use a GFCI receptacle.
An make sure it is a weather resistant(WR) GFCI. Make sure it does not have this sticker on it.
Attached Thumbnails
wiring switch to outlet-0905121348.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-05-2013 at 09:02 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 10:23 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

wiring switch to outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
An use a GFCI receptacle.
I'll check but I'm moving existing outlet on my deck to now outside newly enclosed deck., but I'll check, thanks!

Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A few wiring questions on installing this timer switch thinksincode Electrical 19 03-04-2013 05:31 AM
Help wiring a ceiling fan from a half hot outlet controlled by a switch harleydadokc Electrical 3 06-15-2012 12:06 AM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 12:09 AM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 08:00 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.